We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location - beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is in a tiny village about 2 kms or 15 mins walk from Rothenburg itself. As such it was a beautiful location. It was quiet, with plenty of parking out the front and round the back. We drove through Rothenburg the first day and then left the car at the hotel the next day. Check in was easy and we arrived early in the day. Our room wasn't ready so they pushed our room to the front of the list so we checked in about noon. The room itself was spacious and clean. It could have used a few more hanging hooks or places to put our out stuff in bathroom but other than that it was nice. The hotel had wifi and we sat at a few of the different common sitting areas in the hotel a few times. Breakfast was great and one evening we had a great dinner out the front of the hotel. The kids enjoyed the little merry-go-round at the patio. All the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. The walk to Rothenburg wasn't too long and was an easy to follow. Could be a challenge for someone who is out of shape or small kids. It is uphill the whole way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is about 20-25 minutes walk from Rothenburg. There is sufficient parking in the back and a nice patio out front where you can enjoy lunch, dinner, or drinks. The rooms are clean, although the furniture is outdated and the baths could be redone. But again everything is very clean. The staff is friendly and always available.
The breakfast buffet left no wishes open with everything from eggs & sausages, assorted breads and rolls, cold cuts and cheeses as well as muesli, fresh fruits and jogurts

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very nice ghastof in the charming village of Detwang. The room was of a very decent size and with a clean (albeit small) bathroom. It is very convenient for Rothenburg as it is only a 20 minute walk up and very nice to be away from the rather busy and very touristy town. Parking is very easy, much more so than in Rothenburg. It is also far better value than most of the hotels available in Rothenburg.
All in all a very nice traditional, simple hotel in a lovely village. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Many of the previous reviews have gotten this right...this is a wonderful hotel away from Rothenburg but within a 2 minute drive or ten minute walk. Nice quiet village with a wonderful Romanesque Church with a Riemenschneider altar. Excellent food lovingly prepared. Good service. We were in the modern annex ( actually connected by a breezeway) and had a light airy room with a wintergarden ( stateside read: four seasons room) balcony with view of church. We had the Tauberdream package ( three nights halb-pension with vouchers good for several of the fee events in Rothenburg and Detwang).

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vulch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you want to be away from the hustle und bustle of masses of tourists yet very close to Rothenburg .T., the pearl of the Romantic Route, this hotel is in the right location and saves you quite some money compared to equal accommodations in the city. It's just a kilometer down into the valley in a charming little hamlet that belongs to Rothenburg. This hotel in the typical Frankonian farm house style has spacious comfortable rooms decorated and furnished rustical. Most have balconies.The bathrooms lack nothing of the necessary things and are pretty modern. The hotel serves a rich breakfast and good meals of the Frankonian cuisine throughout the day. There is no parking problem and WiFi works perfect despite the location in a deep valley. Everyone of the staff included the owners were very friendly. Elderly travelers who have rpoblems climbing stairs be advised the hotel has no elevator. Try to get a room on the ground floor, although not really on ground level it's only a short half flight of stairs up.

Room Tip: If you travel in the cooler season and would like to sit on an enclosed protected balcony get room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is away from the city centre of Rothenburg. Hence, it will be kinda out of the way if you do not drive. You can of course take a walk but that will take you about 30-40 mins. The room is clean and the hotel staff are friendly and warm. Downside is probably that the rooms are a bit old but I guess that's the charm of a rustic hotel compared to a modern hotel. Nonetheless, we stayed for a night and it was really pleasant. However, if given a choice to be back in Rothenburg, I might choose a place nearer to the city centre mainly for convenience.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank hmtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Beautiful old hotel located in a charming village, very close to the Rothenburg city. Friednly staff and fantastic breakfast wiht losts of choices! Room big enough, with comfortable bed and lovely view from the inclosed terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
4.2 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#20 of 45 in Rothenburg
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#35 of 45 in Rothenburg
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm

Address: Detwang 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing