We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming ancient hotel in a quiet village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Charming ancient hotel in a quiet village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to overnight close to Rothenburg ob der Tauber. It is near the town, even walking distance, located in a cozy little village Detwang. The imposing building is ancient, it existed already during the 30 years' war, in the 1600's. The Friedle family have run the hotel for over 300 years!

Parking is ample and secure in the inner yard, the front of the hotel is reserved for restaurant guests.

The room we had was on top floor, very large with the windows to two sides of the building, front yard and street. Nice view towards the town and Tauber valley.

Room was very clean, well equipped with good beds. Service was friendly, worthy of the long tradition. We only had a light snack in the restaurant, so cannot judge the kitchen, but the saloon was full in the evening. Breakfast was very good.

The Schwarzes Lamm is a well-run hotel with an interesting history and the stately old building is imposing! Price/quality ratio is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner yard are probably even quieter, but the view is not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    37
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

More affordable than the hotels directly in Rothenburg, the Schwarzes Lamm is in the little village of Detwang, a 15 minute walk from the town walls. An uphill walk, mind you, but manageable for most people. Parking is free at the hotel, so leave your car and walk to town. Helps walk off that meal you'll enjoy at any of the many Gasthäuser in town. The rates are far more reasonable than most of the town hotels, and the surroundings in this quiet village very pleasing. Breakfast is typical European but adequate and should suit everyone. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Everyone seems to speak English. The room was fine, nothing special but very clean and comfortable. We had one meal, in the garden in front, and it was just fine. A really nice spot for a warm evening. There is one negative point concerning the hotel and that is the lack of WIFI access. They have repeaters here and there but in our room (10C), about the farthest from the central part as you can get, there was no connectivity. I had to move to a common room to pick up a signal. But I wasn't there to live online so this was a minor distraction. I see other reviewers had the same comment, so hopefully if enough of us speak up the owner will upgrade to better wireless modems. I suppose 400 year-old buildings effectively block wireless signals!

Room Tip: Note my comment on WIFI connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is excellent, friendly, great location, quiet, good restaurant, good conference facilities (up to 20 pax) and reasonable rooms. Breakfast is good.

But each time I visit (always on business) I get room 10c. At the end of the corridor. Where the wifi is nigh impossible (stand on a chair in the SW top corner of the room and you get some signal).

I complained about this last trip and expected the hotel to have done something about it - but no. So I ended up spending more time that needed in the conference room doing emails etc.

It is a small thing, easily fixed, but adds a negative highlight to what would otherwise be an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Not 10C if you want wifi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is about 2km out of Rothenburg in a quiet village. It is an uphill walk to the old town of Rothenburg, but would be no problem for the fit and healthy. We got a quiet room over looking their court yard in which our car was parked. The wifi in the room was good and the room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was generous and nutritious.

Room Tip: ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We loved our stay here, our room was delightful and the hotel is very peaceful and in a lovely spot just outside of rothenburg. We had a drink on the terrace and just enjoyed relaxing there. The hotel manager could not have been nicer and was an extremely helpful and nice guy. All in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay with easy access to rothenburg.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the terrace and was spacious and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is in a tiny village about 2 kms or 15 mins walk from Rothenburg itself. As such it was a beautiful location. It was quiet, with plenty of parking out the front and round the back. We drove through Rothenburg the first day and then left the car at the hotel the next day. Check in was easy and we arrived early in the day. Our room wasn't ready so they pushed our room to the front of the list so we checked in about noon. The room itself was spacious and clean. It could have used a few more hanging hooks or places to put our out stuff in bathroom but other than that it was nice. The hotel had wifi and we sat at a few of the different common sitting areas in the hotel a few times. Breakfast was great and one evening we had a great dinner out the front of the hotel. The kids enjoyed the little merry-go-round at the patio. All the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. The walk to Rothenburg wasn't too long and was an easy to follow. Could be a challenge for someone who is out of shape or small kids. It is uphill the whole way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
250 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is about 20-25 minutes walk from Rothenburg. There is sufficient parking in the back and a nice patio out front where you can enjoy lunch, dinner, or drinks. The rooms are clean, although the furniture is outdated and the baths could be redone. But again everything is very clean. The staff is friendly and always available.
The breakfast buffet left no wishes open with everything from eggs & sausages, assorted breads and rolls, cold cuts and cheeses as well as muesli, fresh fruits and jogurts

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#27 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
#16 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm

Property: Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm
Address: Detwang 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing