We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few hotels we ever booked an extra night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just outside Rothenburg, this hotel offers a nice accommodation for a nice price about 45 mins walking from the touristic city. It's quiet and comforting. The house itself is beautiful and old style.
Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chosed Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm becauses we hoper to experience an authentic historical atmosphere. And indeed we did!
Right outside the walls of the incredibly beautyful and exiting city of Rothenburg, close to nature and old farms on the Tauber with green surroundings, you find this very cosy Gasthof .
We had a room with a view towards the beautyful valley and the old church. The standard is simple, ok for 3 star. We got what we expected, a rustic hotel with charm. (Usually we choose 4 or 5 stars hotel, but in Germany, 3 star hotel often gives you lots of value),
The terrace and the restaurant where really Nice. A good feeling to come back from busy Rothenburg to the the cozy hotel and terrace. Fantastic homemade local food. We ended up, having most of our dinners there instead of Rothenburg.
Two important practical advantages with the hotel: free and safe parking and the possibility to rent bicycles. We went for a fantastic biking tour aning the Tauber river.
If you chose to stay at this Gasthof, take some time to walk around the nice villages along the river.
In Rothenburg, dont miss the guided tour at 8pm by the night watchman. Very Nice and humoristic.

We can recommend Gasthof Schwarches Lamm to anyone. Lots of value and charm!

Room Tip: We liked the view towards the inner yard, the Tauber Valley and church. Asked for this when booing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteLangtvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay out the Schwarzes Lamm was in all aspects a wonderful experience: a friendly and speedy checkin, the delicious dinner (local Bavarian dinner) on the terrace, the room with view on the old church, the breakfast with lots of choice on cold/hot dishes and fruits. After dinner we walked uphill for about 20 minutes to Rothenburg. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful old town of Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to overnight close to Rothenburg ob der Tauber. It is near the town, even walking distance, located in a cozy little village Detwang. The imposing building is ancient, it existed already during the 30 years' war, in the 1600's. The Friedle family have run the hotel for over 300 years!

Parking is ample and secure in the inner yard, the front of the hotel is reserved for restaurant guests.

The room we had was on top floor, very large with the windows to two sides of the building, front yard and street. Nice view towards the town and Tauber valley.

Room was very clean, well equipped with good beds. Service was friendly, worthy of the long tradition. We only had a light snack in the restaurant, so cannot judge the kitchen, but the saloon was full in the evening. Breakfast was very good.

The Schwarzes Lamm is a well-run hotel with an interesting history and the stately old building is imposing! Price/quality ratio is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner yard are probably even quieter, but the view is not so nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

More affordable than the hotels directly in Rothenburg, the Schwarzes Lamm is in the little village of Detwang, a 15 minute walk from the town walls. An uphill walk, mind you, but manageable for most people. Parking is free at the hotel, so leave your car and walk to town. Helps walk off that meal you'll enjoy at any of the many Gasthäuser in town. The rates are far more reasonable than most of the town hotels, and the surroundings in this quiet village very pleasing. Breakfast is typical European but adequate and should suit everyone. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Everyone seems to speak English. The room was fine, nothing special but very clean and comfortable. We had one meal, in the garden in front, and it was just fine. A really nice spot for a warm evening. There is one negative point concerning the hotel and that is the lack of WIFI access. They have repeaters here and there but in our room (10C), about the farthest from the central part as you can get, there was no connectivity. I had to move to a common room to pick up a signal. But I wasn't there to live online so this was a minor distraction. I see other reviewers had the same comment, so hopefully if enough of us speak up the owner will upgrade to better wireless modems. I suppose 400 year-old buildings effectively block wireless signals!

Room Tip: Note my comment on WIFI connectivity.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is excellent, friendly, great location, quiet, good restaurant, good conference facilities (up to 20 pax) and reasonable rooms. Breakfast is good.

But each time I visit (always on business) I get room 10c. At the end of the corridor. Where the wifi is nigh impossible (stand on a chair in the SW top corner of the room and you get some signal).

I complained about this last trip and expected the hotel to have done something about it - but no. So I ended up spending more time that needed in the conference room doing emails etc.

It is a small thing, easily fixed, but adds a negative highlight to what would otherwise be an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Not 10C if you want wifi!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is about 2km out of Rothenburg in a quiet village. It is an uphill walk to the old town of Rothenburg, but would be no problem for the fit and healthy. We got a quiet room over looking their court yard in which our car was parked. The wifi in the room was good and the room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was generous and nutritious.

Room Tip: ask for what you need.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngusMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 45 in Rothenburg
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm

Address: Detwang 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £75 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Schwarzes Lamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing