We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hostel”
Review of Pension Becker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Becker
Ranked #17 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice family hostel”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It is a small well runed hostel, it's in the center, close to everything. The rooms have a nice size, you have bathroom and shower in the room which is great. Staff is really helpful and nice. The only downside is that they don't have internet, and being such a small town that dies really early, it got a bit bored being at the hostel with no internet. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Pension Becker is easy to find just around the corner from the Galgentor. We paid for parking at the public lot just outside the gate because we didn't know, but it turns out they can help you find some free parking. The staff was very helpful and friendly, even loaning us an umbrella when my husband forgot one. The bed was very comfortable, especially for the price (at this price I usually expect it to be a bit hard). Our room had three lace-curtained windows with a view over the street - very cute! (Note though: cars on cobblestones are really loud!) The shower was directly in the bedroom, which is actually great for me since my greatest hotel bathroom peeve is when the shower is too close to the toilet. ;) However, that may be a problem for people who are intent on complete shower privacy. Things were definitely a bit run-down & the hallway smelled of cologne which is why I give 4 instead of 5 stars, but the price and location can't be beat and this place is a great deal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We walked up to this place after learning about it at the TI (the board that tells you B&B vacancies) and we are glad we waited 5 minutes outside for the owner to get there after ringing them. It's well situated just inside the wall. The price is competitive. We were offered a family room for the price of the double and it was spacious and cozy. We can overlook the narrow stairs (no elevator) and squeaky hallway for the cute home experience. We were fine having parked outside the wall, but they would have tried to arrange something inside for us. Breakfast was hearty, though the dining hall can be small based on how many people are staying. Self-serve mini bar offered cheap drinks. The only downside is the check-out time being a little early for a relaxing morning in a B&B, but it could just be the Rothenburg standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalb_al_Akrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our room was more like a bed in a bathroom than a bedroom with facilities! But perfectly adequate for a short stay.

It's very close to the centre, and we had no trouble parking free about 50 yards away, next to the wall.

The breakfast is a bit chaotic when the house is fairly full, but no real problem, except the lack of eggs.

Hosts are very friendly and helpful.

The prices are excellent for this town, but be prepared for a little compromise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuBer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

If you want to stay right in the middle of the old walled city for a bargain, this place is tough to beat. The room was tiny, the bathroom was the tiniest I've seen, but they were clean. This is no frills, but you're in Rothenburg, and there's enough to see that you're not going to be spending a lot of time in your room.

The owners were very kind and served a decent breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The pension itself was about average but I really couldn't tell if my room was just really run down or if it was dirty. That being said the bed was really comfortable, the location was good and the hosts were reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just1michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Medina, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My husband and I spent two nights as guests at Pension Becker. Rothenburg's tiny streets are understandably tricky to navigate even in a small rental car, but people are patient and helpful. Once the car was parked, we walked everywhere. This little hotel is perfectly located and delightful. It was our first visit to this part of Germany, and we hope to return to visit this ancient city and lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeinzKapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Becker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Becker

Property: Pension Becker
Address: Rosengasse 23, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Becker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing