We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altfrankische Weinstube
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel was wonderful. From the outside, it looked like a picture from a postcard. Inside, it was so quaint with antiques, old wooden tables, a piano, wine bottles, and history. Mario, his wife, and daughter were wonderful. Breakfast was included and was very good. The room was very spacious & clean. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was very large & modern with amenities such as shampoo, lotions, bath crystals, heated towel rack, & hairdryer.
The most intriguing part of the visit was that the "English speaking club" is held there on Wednesday nights - and we happened to be there that night. It was wonderful! We met "Herman the German", Wolfgang, and a host of others eager to share their stories. It was definitely a highlight of our trip.
The location of the hotel was central to everything, including the town square. Be sure and go to the night watchman's tour - it's fantastic!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it was a spacious and comfortable room. It was large enough for a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    70
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
150
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

After our initial meeting with the owner, who was very gruff and demanded to see our reservation sheet, even though I knew he had our name and I had emailed the night before to confirm our reservation, we finally got to our room. We booked a suite and it was 2 large rooms plus a huge bathroom. Initially we were delighted. We were very tired and went to bed at 10:00 on a Saturday night - our mistake. Our room had 4 windows (one of which wouldn't shut properly) over the front and the street. Noise from the smokers and the people on the street was nearly intolerable and we just couldn't sleep until after 1:30 am. So that dampened our thoughts about the place. I would recommend this place, but ask for a room that doesn't face the street. The breakfast was typical.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I were directed to this restaurant by a different hotel in which we were staying for our anniversary dinner. It did not disappoint us. The small quaint tavern was set with low lighting, candles on the tables, and the entrance had vintage pianos and décor. We enjoyed the traditional German fare. They were notable for their Pork roast and gravy which was delicious and my husband had the array of local German sausages. We had a lovely German wine with dinner and of course started out with some local German beer in steins. The only thing not on the menu was Sauerbraten which we knew going into the venture. We had a lovely experience and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had never stayed in a 600 year old building so thought this would be a good place to experience life in the 16th Century. Our conclusion is that life in the 1500s hadn't become much brighter--at least indoors--since the Dark Ages.
It took a while to adjust to the darkness as we entered. As there is no "front desk" and no one was there to greet us, we weren't sure we were in the right place. We called out and the manager appeared from what must have been the kitchen. Without so much as a "welcome", he gave us our room key, showed us where to park our car and advised us that their restaurant/bar would not be open this evening.
As previous reviewers have mentioned, the entire place is cluttered with... stuff. Our dimly lit room had a huge, ominous portrait of a lady peering out as us as we lay in bed and there was very little room to store our luggage and still be able to move around. The bathroom reminded my wife of the one in her parent's camper--ready access to the sink when sitting on the toilet.
The breakfast was the highlight of our stay and improved the overall rating from a 2 to a 3. The charm of living in the dark and dreary 16th Century quickly wore off. We will look for more modern and friendly accommodations on our next visit to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLuvItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I echo Joe C's input. A rustic place, quiet, good price, fair breakfast. The hired staff seem nice enough. Tons of non-related 'decorative' junk everywhere. The owner should not be in the hospitality business. We walked into the bar at 10:30 and were greeted with 'one drink and we are closed' -as blunt as that. We were limited to the one while others, who were there before us and seemed like locals, had 3 more with regular offerings. With all the rooms available in Rothenburg, a return visit would have us elsewhere. Suggest you keep looking.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chutski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a very nice suite of rooms on top floor of the "annex" up the road. Reasonable price and the morning breakfast was fine. The Lord of Rings decorations were a bit intense, but overall the ambiance was something we enjoyed. What was baffling was the way we were treated by Mario, the owner. When we arrived he was hostile, seeming not to want to acknowledge that we had reservations. Then he barked out orders on where our room was and indicated he would find a place for us to park. We walked up to our room,and unloaded our suitcases then came down to the street to be chewed out some more for not being quicker. We tried to make light of this treatment, attributing it to a certain strain of German personality, but it was so hostile that it was not fun to experience. Later we stopped by the restaurant to see what was on the menu for diner and again Mario was hostile to being asked an innocent question. Maybe we caught him on a bad day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my favorite place to stay in Germany. It is so charmingly cluttered with all sorts of German antiques; you just feel the history. It goes along with the character of Rothenburg. But it has modern amenities such as free wi-fi! Good free breakfast. Excellent location within walking distance of the old town square. Romantic dinners lit only by candlelight. The hosts speak English. I was delighted with this hotel and would readily visit it again. The only downside is that there is no elevator so you have to lug your baggage up a flight of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Property: Altfrankische Weinstube
Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altfrankische Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing