We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse stay in Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Rothenburg o.d. Tauber a guesthouse in an old building with an restaurant on the first floor. A GREAT deal in this town, big room and large bathroom with heat and windows. Very good WIFI and super friendly reception when we arrived. Parking a few hundred feet away on a public parking lot (outside the city walking streets). The breakfast is served in another restaurant / hotel a short walk away - but worth it! Great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Am weissen Turm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was nice and the location was excellent. There are many problems with this hotel though. The first problem is there is no parking and you have to walk to the hotel to check in, then we were actually roomed at another location over a bar/restaurant. I knew this when I booked the hotel so that is not a big deal to me. The problem started that night when my wife and I had to listen to some noisy drunks until late in the night. I did not know this room was going to be over a bar.
The next problem was that the shower in our room was broken. It squirted enough water for us to get dressed, but because we were not housed at the same location as the registration desk (and there is no phones in the room) we could not report the problem. The electrical outlet was also broken in the bathroom.
When we went to check out I nicely informed the lady at the desk. She got mad and blamed me for breaking the shower and the outlet. She stated that I should be more careful in a house that was built 800 years ago. I tried to reason with her that the shower was not 800 years old, but her or her husband would not hear this.
It is a great location to see the town from, but the staff and amenities are lacking to say it nicely.

Room Tip: There are many other hotels to choose from in the area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armyvette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Fantastic room, hosts were excellent even when we arrived very late, super friendly.
Breakfast was delicious with a fantastic choice. The room we stayed in was huge, beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfy and the room was spotless.

There were no tea or coffee making facilities, a bit of let down as there was no one in the building to get a drink from.

parking can be difficult and breakfast is served in the main hotel a few minutes walk away from the guest house (If you stay in the guest house) but for us this was not an issue as everything was so good.

Room Tip: Take a drink in as you can not get one in the room or once the café has closed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffee71Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Am weissen Turm in July 2013.

Liked:
Perfect location - near the Rothenburg's main town square and lots of restaurants, cafes and shopping nearby.
Our room (#3) was huge and well-decorated with antique looking furniture. It had a fresco on the ceiling, lots of character and several windows on 2 sides. I believe some of the other rooms are much smaller though.
Wi-fi speed was good.
The room was quiet; we did not hear outside noise.
The price was right - 65 euros for 1 night.

Disliked:
One minor inconvenience - you have to check out at a different hotel around the block.

Overall: 5/5. We highly recommend this hotel due its great location.

Room Tip: Room #3 was great. Huge room with king size bed, fresco on ceiling, windows on 2 sides, daybed, mak...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a wonderful hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful and they can speak English very well. The location is perfect, you are near the city square and town hall. The restaurant that is in the bottom of the hotel has great food at a reasonable price - I ate here for the majority of my trip. The rooms are pretty basic but I found it to be spacious and very clean. I'm not a smoker and I didn't notice a smoke smell anywhere in the hotel so it seems like this problem a previous reviewer mentioned has been cleared up. I stayed here during the Meistertrunk Festival in May 2013 and I found it to be a very central location and yet I was still able to get a good night's sleep at night so noise wasn't an issue. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here on a trip through on the romantic road. The hotel is one block off of the Markt Platz putting it in a great location for all the sights of Rothenburg. I would recommend it for couples or singles travelling as it was competitively priced for a city that can fill up quick with tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

The owners here are heavy smokers. The open design of the building lets the smoke fill the entire building. We had a non-smoking room and breathed smoke all night. Skipped the free breakfast just to leave as soon as possible. We ended up in the tourist information office who found us a hotel next door that was following the new laws in Germany on smoking. Add to that no TV, radio or elevator. You will breathe smoke up and down the three flights of steps for the non-smoking rooms. I would never leave a negative review if it was not deserved.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank BoeingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Adler
Zum Schwarzen Adler
#40 of 45 in Rothenburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am weissen Turm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am weissen Turm

Address: Georgengasse 2, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £59 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am weissen Turm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing