We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gasthof Hotel Bezold, Rothenburg ob der Tauber”
Review of Gasthof Bezold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthof Bezold
Ranked #17 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved the location within walking distance to the old Rothenburg wall and town. The room was large enough to accommodate 3 adults. The room was clean with the exception of some pet hair (white) on the rug. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and good. We had booked another hotel within the wall but changed to this one because we saw they had air conditioning. There was no air conditioning or even a fan. We found a small fan and managed the first night that was quite warm with windows open. The next day was better with cooler temperatures. We still loved our 2 night stay in Rothenburg and will go back again but may try another hotel within the wall.

Room Tip: I think the temperature in Rothenburg ob der Tauber is moderate most of the summer. There was no air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013CMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this a day or so before arriving and after a few hours knew we wanted to stay a day or so longer. The staff juggled some bookings and thus allowed us to keep the same room.
The location was just on the edge of the City Wall so very easy access in and out of the town.

Breakfast was pretty good - usual German fare - bread, cheeses, fruit salad, boiled eggs &cold meats (though we are veggie so can't comment on the taste). (I believe they do lunch and evening meals but we were too busy out and about to give them a go).

A pleasant little guest house that gave us freedom to explore this wonderful town. Staff were helpful if we needed anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Spent one night in Rothenburg at this simple but convenient B&B. Don't expect to much from the rooms but everything is clean and the bathroom fairly big. Seems to be a family run business and everything shuts down around 6 pm so don't expect to much service. The street is a little noisy which could be a problem if you are a lite sleeper like me. The breakfast was fine and the parking is free. The walk to the city walls is about 2 minutes. I recommend as long as you're not looking for luxury!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We travelled to Rothenburg with my In-Laws and our two young children. We were running a few hours behind in our travels (had dinner with relatives in Stuttgart), and unlike North America, hotels in Germany (espescially small ones) have hours when the desk is not attended. Our relatives called Gunther and told him that we would be late - he said, no problem. We didn't arrive until midnight, and there was Gunther (who, not only is the owner, but also the chef) waiting for us in his chef's outfit! He was so kind and accomodating...he showed us two guest rooms behind his main hotel - and, let me tell you...after staying a few nights in Paris the day before in the old part of the city, these rooms looked like a palace! The kids went crazy, there was so much room.
Breakfast was great - the palce was spotless - the location was awesome...close to the old city - the staff including Gunther were awesome - parking was free...for us to stay there again would be an absolute no-brainer.
We had to pay cash....but, to me, that's no big deal...certainly nothing to be negative about. They are good, hardworking people, and if you won't stay there because of that silly reason, you are missing out on a great place.
If back in Rothenburg, I will be staying there again.

From Canada!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were in September 2012 in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. We stayed in Gasthof Bezold. Our staying was very good. The host Günter was very friendly. He knowes very well what his costumers like. We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary, he really made it special! The room was very spacious, also the bathroom. The room offers everything you need in your staying. Breakfast is good and there is parking space for your car. Next time when we go to Rothenburg we will certenly stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans and Ingrid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hotel Bezold is charming and in a very good location just outside the city walls and not far from all the major sights. We found Rothenburg op der Tauber to be a good location to set off to other cities and towns on the Romantic Road. Overall we were happy with our stay but there is room for improvement with this hotel. Breakfast is set out but not everything is restocked as people arrive for breakfast and eat (perhaps this is usual in this area but we quickly learned it was better to get down for breakfast as early as possible). Like DBNewcastleuponTyne our credit cards/bank cards were not easily used upon checkout -- the machine was not working/slow with our bank card and the Visa was only possible to use with a pin code...so we also had to pay with cash. In terms of cleaning, I prefer a room that is vacuumed more thoroughly and daily. The furnishings are dated...but after a day of walking and sightseeing the beds were comfortable and the bath/shower was lovely. The price was fair and we enjoyed our stay overall.

Room Tip: ask what sort of bath/shower the room has, rooms on the restaurant side can be more noisy during din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skies527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We found this hotel on our first trip to Rothenburg. Since it is outside the city walls it is a little less expensive than those in town, but it is very conveniently located. It is only a short walk to one of the main entrances to the lovely town. The owner is very friendly but speaks little English. The rooms are large and airy with lots of natural light. We have stayed there twice so we have seen two different rooms, and they were both very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are very large and have everything you need. If you walk the city walls, you can see the hotel clearly...it is very close. Parking in back is convenient. The breakfast is very nice. If you go, be sure to take the Nightwatchman Tour. We will go back and stay at Gasthof Bezold again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Altes Brauhaus
Altes Brauhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Bezold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Bezold

Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 11, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Bezold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Bezold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing