We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot in centre of town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Butz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Butz
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great spot in centre of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a lovely little hotel with only 12 rooms located just down a little alley from the main market square. We had a spacious triple room and it was very clean with a big bathroom. There is a great looking beer garden at the back of the hotel which wasn't being used during our stay but I imagine would be very popular in Summer. Price is very reasonable and location is excellent. Staff not very friendly but it may have been language barriers? WIFI a little slow at times but still a big plus! Recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
34
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This guesthouse is a rare find. My wife and I stayed here when we did a circle road trip from Munich during the Christmas Market season. It is a delightful place with cozy clean comfortable rooms. Wi-Fi is included in all of the rooms. The location is very near the heart of this small romantic town and the restaurant is better than most of what you can find in this town. There is a parking garage very close to this place, where you may park your vehicle, but you can park for free directly in front of this hotel for free between the hours of 5:00 pm and 9:00 am.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skig8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My room was very small and basic but not expensive on the other hand , only 39 Euros with breakfast. There was a bathroom but so small that a handbasin had to be in the room. I think that double rooms are more comfortable ,as usually, because Gasthof Butz looks very beautiful. I definitely recommend this hotel despite the fact that my room was rather poor especially that the town is magnificent and the location of the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night when we visited Rothenburg in September 2011. It was a delightful stay. The room itself was clean and cozy with a large bathroom (including towel warmer rack). The included breakfast was lovely, and the cute knitted hats to keep the boiled eggs warm was a nice touch. We had lunch in the restaurant's biergarten the next day, and that was good too.

The location can't be beat...just a few steps to the main market square, yet off the "main drag" a bit so perhaps a bit quieter. Although we had arrived by train there seemed to be ample parking in the Kapellenplatz. I would happily stay here again if I am lucky enough to return to Rothenburg someday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divachen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here during Der Meistertrunk festival and had an absolutely fabulous time. This is where all the locals came to hang out so you know the food was authentic and the atmosphere festive! The hotel is one block off the main square so everything was easily within walking distance but far enough off the beaten path you could get a good nights sleep. The room was a nice size located on the back of the hotel and the bathroom appeared to have been updated. No television to speak of but we weren't there to watch German tv anyway. Typical German breakfast with both hard and soft boiled eggs with the soft boiled ones wearing little knitted hats to keep them warm! Staff not as friendly as other hotels we stayed at but this was possibly due to language issues. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUVball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi
Level Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We have stayed here 3 times over the last 15 years and recommended it to many friends. The place is clean, in the heart of things and has a great resturant. It is not fancy but is the real Germany. A place with rooms upstairs (there is no elevator) and a resturant below. It is well maintained and has been in the same family for 100 years. Our room and bathroom were large and very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As mentioned parking is about a 5 min walk in a public lot. There is short term parking in front. English is spoken as in most of Rothenburg. If you want a nice, clean place in the midde of the city at a reasonable price this is it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiMadcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Nothin' fancy, but I wasn't looking for that. Just needed a clean and nice place to sleep while I went sight-seeing in this amazing little town full of beautiful streets and buildings and history and architecture... Great value for the price. Bathroom had a couple amenities which sufficed. Free, light breakfast; English-speaking (well enough, anyway) staff. Cool beer garden out back. Cable TV. Apparently VERY popular lunch with the locals. I didn't have it, but it was PACKED for lunch! Also, I liked building. Stiars, yes --and no elevator, but it didn't bother me. Beautiful winding staircase. Someone obviously cares about this place.. Will upload some photos later if I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieAnn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#29 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 47 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
#19 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Butz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Butz

Property: Gasthof Butz
Address: Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Butz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing