We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay inside the old town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Butz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Butz
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
312 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Stay inside the old town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Squeeky floorboards and stairs make you feel back in the old times. Interesting old gasthaus offering good rooms and central location to expoire Rothenburg. Breakfast is traditionally German with a good selection. A must is to do the night watchmens tour in english at 7 or 8 p.m. This tour is most interesting explaining all the important facts of Rothenburg and how it was saved from detruction during world war II.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
34
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Gasthof Butz is a traditional hotel in the centre of Rothenberg-o-d-Tauber. The room was very comfortable (you may need a second pillow) and clean. The breakfast was fine and we ate both at lunch time and one evening at the hotel and the food was first class - simple but delicious.
Unlike other B&B's we've stayed at there was little tourist information available but the Information Centre was very close.
We were very fortunate to have been given a free parking space. R-o-d-Tauber is a wonderful place which can be totally enjoyed on foot.
We found everyone we met to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check on parking arrangements before arriving. We're not sure if the space we were given was fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great location in the old town. Parking can be a nuisance in the streets but we found free parking along the street just beyond the gates.
So nice to stay in rothenburg after the 'tourists' go home :-)
Noisy toilet.
Internet wasn't great in room but fine down stairs,
Service was often without smiles but it seems that is often just the german way.
Not fancy but has a nice cosy home feel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lissc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here in March of 2012 and it was wonderful. There were snow flurries and it was freezing outside, but was warm and cozy inside. I had to leave early and because I would not be able to have breakfast that day, they discounted my room for the cost of breakfast! The room was spotless and the bathroom was a nice size.
I did have a problem with the free internet (I was on the third floor), but was able to access it on the landing on the second where they had a nice little sitting area with plants.
As a woman travelling alone, I really liked the warmth and safety of staying in town and having all of RODT at my fingertips.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel (B&B) has been owned and operated by the same family since the late 1800's. It is in a perfect location at the heart of the charming town of Rothenburg. The rooms were small but fine. The breakfast was great and the food at the restaurant very reasonably priced, huge portions and good. This hotel was very family friendly and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. We spent 2 nights here and would have stayed longer if we had more time. Rothenburg is one of my favorite towns in Germany.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarahipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a great guest house. It is very cosy and homely. The location is great - it is inside the walled old town and literally a one minute walk from the townsquare. We had a family room and it was a good size for 2 adults and 2 children (The kids loved the guest house). It was very reasonably price which included a nice breakfast. Look forward to staying here next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a lovely little hotel with only 12 rooms located just down a little alley from the main market square. We had a spacious triple room and it was very clean with a big bathroom. There is a great looking beer garden at the back of the hotel which wasn't being used during our stay but I imagine would be very popular in Summer. Price is very reasonable and location is excellent. Staff not very friendly but it may have been language barriers? WIFI a little slow at times but still a big plus! Recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 47 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
#16 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
#18 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Butz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Butz

Property: Gasthof Butz
Address: Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gasthof Butz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing