We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marktbarbl - CLOSED

Marktbarbl
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We managed to get in this restaurant having wandered around for a hour trying to find a place that wasn't fully booked. The staff were friendly and helped translate the meals on the German menu that were not on the English menu. Typical German food and drink, well worth a visit, so glad the other restaurants were full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be sure to find this place when you're in Würzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This restaurant is tucked away just off the Domstrße. It was recommended to us by a local friend who pointed out that it was quite close to our hotel. We arrived with no reservation and were seated immediately with a couple from America who are regular diners here. We had a most pleasant evening with fine food all local and prepared in Franconian style. Another reviewer suggested that there was not much English spoken here, but we found that our waiter as well as others who checked in on us were quite comfortable with English. One of the many pleasures of being in Würzburg is Frankenwein, and we enjoyed it with our fine meal. I'll certainly be back here again and will let my friend know that her recommendation was very well received.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dekberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
409 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great local Food - Nothing Fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is where the locals eat and it is busy and if you are two people you likely will end up at a table with some locals. Great experience and great food. The food is franconian and heavy but it is excellent and the servers were very helpful and friendly. Not much English here but great place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is dining spot is just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I ordered boiled beef with horseradish sauce and should have asked for the sauce on the side, because the dish when presented looked very unappetizing as the beef was drowning in the odd looking chalky white sauce. Tasted ok. There are other better places for a tourist to enjoy god food in WUrzburg.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LinZPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This place was recommended by the hotel, and we had a walk around and thought it looked quaint enough.
We had a meal outside on the street, with really good beer, and even more amazing food. The beef was some of the most tender I have ever eaten, and the turkey schnitzel my partner had, was *almost* as good.
Again, good service, and a nice location.
We'd highly recommend a meal here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marktbarbl also viewed

Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing