We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wurzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Where to begin? We stayed for 5 nights and the better we became acquainted with the hotel the more we discovered its plus side.
At first it seemed unprepossessing, situated in a side / back street with no imposing facade. This was an advantage being both central and quiet and also within reasonable walking distance of the station and near a tram stop.
We had a spacious room with both a double and a single bed. It is probably best described as simply furnished - all the basics are there although a little more drawer space would be helpful for other than an overnight stay, but it was not trying to impress, being without any pretension to luxury. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate and well-appointed. Both this and the room were spotlessly clean.
The real focus of the hotel was its attractive restaurant Vinothek Tiepolo with its excellent food and service. You must book a table, certainly in December, as it was fully booked every night , even on a Monday. There is also a wine bar in the cellar, offering an oustanding range of local wines.
The breakfast buffet offered a good choice and the hotel owners Herr and Frau Rink immediately offered an alternative for something one of us is allergic to. Both the owners, and also the staff, went out of their way to be helpful.
Stay in this hotel if you are looking for a good small modern hotel but not if you are looking for luxury. Be prepared to let it grow on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank well-travelled0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Heights, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Cheery room, helpful host &fabulous breakfast. Walked from the train station. Got an English map and info from our host so our to urging in Wurzburg went well. The location is great for exploring on foot. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Shortly after checking into this small hotel in Wurzbueg, Germany, my friend discovered that her wallet was missing, most likely left on the train or in the train station. The owner was incredibly helpful, even sharing his personal phone for her to use to contact her U.S. credit card companies!

After this stressful event, we enjoyed a delicious meal in the downstairs restaurant. When asking about wine, we were treated to a "wine tasting" before selecting a fabulous, local white.

The room is immaculate and comfortable, and the owner/employees are as good as they come! If we are lucky enough to return to Wurzburg, we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank G501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a great spot however you maybe traveling through Germany. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The accommodations were clean and well furnished. The only toiletries supplied was a bottle of hair and body shampoo in the shower. The internet is free and the connection is great. The breakfast was delicious. A small buffet set out each morning in the downstairs restaurant. An assortment of breads, jams, butters, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts and muesli, and tea. Just right to start off your day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. No problems communicating. The only difficulty we encountered was parking. We were traveling throughout Bavaria via car. The closest parking was about three blocks away and about 11 euro a day. No bad. The hotel is only a 5-10 min walk from the main marketplace, train station, riverfront, and The Residence. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kikiboombox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Cute little hotel with wine bar below it. About a 2-3 minute walk from centre of town and train station, perfectly located! The staff were friendly, the breakfast was great and so was the wine ;) We would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Very friendly, although the staff's ability to speak English is very variable. Clean and in a very convenient location between the train station and the old town area. We made reservations by email and it worked great. We returned back through Wurzburg to stay overnight before flying out of Frankfurt and they were full, so advance reservations seem to be a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Very very good value for the convenient location. It is on the (kind of ) back street but easy to spot.

It is located in the central, close enough from the Würzburg station. ( I walked with suitcase)
Walking distance from everything except Festung Marienburg.

I booked a single room, but there are 2 single beds in it ( maybe there is no single room !? ) It is not very roomy, nor fancy and the bed is really teeny but clean and has got everything in the room.
There are several doors before you get to your room, so it is safe.

Breakfast is more than I expected for the value.
There is a small restaurant on the ground level, which looked nice and cozy.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#6 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni

Property: Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Address: Innerer Graben 22, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central, yet quiet and peaceful, location in the heart of the "Old Town" makes it easy to visit all tourist attractions by walking within 10 to 15 minutes. Your "Good Night Sleep" is assured by our noise reduction windows. We have an elevator in the house. Bike Tourists are specialy welcomed!!! We are Partner from Bed and Bike ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing