We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of our trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wurzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
RIVER FALLS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent our first night in Germany here. A good location near the old part of the city. Parking is available for a reasonable price in a garage near by. The rooms are adequate and the owners friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our best meal of the trip in the restaurant at the hotel. My husband said he also had his favorite beer here as well, a very dark smokey brew.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Dortmunder Hof is a small, intimate family-run hotel, centrally placed, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Wuerzburg, apart from its comfortable accommodation, it boasts a superb Restaurant and Wine Bar - great food and drink at keen prices. And downstairs a darling Keller - warm, cosy and intimate, where I had the great pleasure of performing my music recently to a lovely audience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

A lovely hotel. I arrived very early from Frankfurt, but the owner, a very friendly lady, arranged for my room to be ready very quickly, and sat me down in the gorgeous dining room with a pot of hot coffee while I waited.
Located only a couple of minutes' walk from the Marktplatz, and about ten minutes from the railway station. Rooms were snug and comfy and the breakfasts were fantastic, with a hot coffee waiting for you, and a glorious selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits and breads to choose from. Extremely friendly staff, who all made me feel very welcome.
A highly recommended hotel in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Where to begin? We stayed for 5 nights and the better we became acquainted with the hotel the more we discovered its plus side.
At first it seemed unprepossessing, situated in a side / back street with no imposing facade. This was an advantage being both central and quiet and also within reasonable walking distance of the station and near a tram stop.
We had a spacious room with both a double and a single bed. It is probably best described as simply furnished - all the basics are there although a little more drawer space would be helpful for other than an overnight stay, but it was not trying to impress, being without any pretension to luxury. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate and well-appointed. Both this and the room were spotlessly clean.
The real focus of the hotel was its attractive restaurant Vinothek Tiepolo with its excellent food and service. You must book a table, certainly in December, as it was fully booked every night , even on a Monday. There is also a wine bar in the cellar, offering an oustanding range of local wines.
The breakfast buffet offered a good choice and the hotel owners Herr and Frau Rink immediately offered an alternative for something one of us is allergic to. Both the owners, and also the staff, went out of their way to be helpful.
Stay in this hotel if you are looking for a good small modern hotel but not if you are looking for luxury. Be prepared to let it grow on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank well-travelled0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Heights, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Cheery room, helpful host &fabulous breakfast. Walked from the train station. Got an English map and info from our host so our to urging in Wurzburg went well. The location is great for exploring on foot. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Shortly after checking into this small hotel in Wurzbueg, Germany, my friend discovered that her wallet was missing, most likely left on the train or in the train station. The owner was incredibly helpful, even sharing his personal phone for her to use to contact her U.S. credit card companies!

After this stressful event, we enjoyed a delicious meal in the downstairs restaurant. When asking about wine, we were treated to a "wine tasting" before selecting a fabulous, local white.

The room is immaculate and comfortable, and the owner/employees are as good as they come! If we are lucky enough to return to Wurzburg, we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank G501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a great spot however you maybe traveling through Germany. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The accommodations were clean and well furnished. The only toiletries supplied was a bottle of hair and body shampoo in the shower. The internet is free and the connection is great. The breakfast was delicious. A small buffet set out each morning in the downstairs restaurant. An assortment of breads, jams, butters, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts and muesli, and tea. Just right to start off your day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. No problems communicating. The only difficulty we encountered was parking. We were traveling throughout Bavaria via car. The closest parking was about three blocks away and about 11 euro a day. No bad. The hotel is only a 5-10 min walk from the main marketplace, train station, riverfront, and The Residence. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kikiboombox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.1 mi away
Greifensteiner Hof Hotel
Greifensteiner Hof Hotel
#34 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#18 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alter Kranen
Hotel Alter Kranen
#10 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Schoenleber
City Hotel Schoenleber
#24 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni

Property: Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Address: Innerer Graben 22, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing