We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Budget Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wurzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient Budget Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 1 night in Würzburg while visiting friends. We had had some difficulty finding a hotel that was available in our price range, so chose the Hotel Dortmunder based on TA reviews.
The hotel is down a side street just off the pedestrian zone and a 10 minute walk from the train station. Downstairs there is a little bistro which seems to be very popular with the locals.
Our room was quite outdated, but it was clean and neat, with enough room for our luggage. It was nice to have a proper corner shower after weeks of shower-over-baths.
We couldn't get any wifi reception in our room, but were able to use it from the bistro downstairs.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, with a huge variety of bread, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereal, fruits, cakes and spreads.
The staff were lovely, and were able to give us plenty of advice on where to go for sightseeing.
The Hotel Dortmunder is a pleasant budget hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ConstantlyinAwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My group spent 3 nights at the Dortmunder Hof last week. This hotel was given good reviews by Rick Steves but I think it was even better than advertised. It is a cozy, family run place with a nice restaurant and centrally located. It was 10 minutes to the Hauptbahnhof and even closer to the Michaels Church, Dom, Rathaus and the fabulous Old Main Bridge. The rooms were large enough and comfortable and the breakfast was hearty with great coffee. I would definitely bring another group to the Dortmunder Hof.

By the way, the owners explained to me how this hotel got the unusual name of Dortmunder Hof hundreds of Kilometers from Dortmund. It seems that years ago the Dortmunder brewery provided the beer for the restaurant and it was the cheapest in town...and you know what that means with Wuerzburg not only being a University city, but at that time a very large garrison for the US 3d Infantry Division. Great place and good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on all sides are fine. No loud streets in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because Rick Steves recommended it in his travel book. The facade is unassuming on a back street. We began to wonder as we pulled up, if this was a good idea. But upon stepping inside, we knew we made the right choice. It is family run and the very friendly owner poured us something to drink and invited us in. He helped bring our luggage to the room and he then gave us an umbrella and an English map to help us find our way around the city. The hotel is centrally located and only a short walk from the Marketplatz. Rooms are small but the wifi in the rooms is complimentary. The restaurant below the hotel is charming. We had a very good supper. I would recommend the rolled beef with the potato dumpling and red kraut. We had a very good type of corn relish that was complimentary before the meal. In the morning, we had breakfast of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, fruits, and more extras than any other place during our 2 weeks of travel. If there was any downside to this hotel, it would be a little noise starting at 5am with people talking around the courtyard. (We had our windows open), as well as some delivery trucks. Still, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2013 because of what we had read on TripAdvisor. It was good value and located in the heart of the city.

We found it pleasant, actually liked the restaurant below better than the room we had, which faced out onto a courtyard that was busy with delivery trucks very early in the morning, between 6:00 and 7:00 a.m.

The rooms was rather small, which wasn't a real problem, but we would not call it delightful either. The bathroom was fine, but also not as modern as other places we've stayed in.

There is a small lift. Municipal parking is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, which was an issue for us because of a downpour when we wanted to leave. The owner did lend us an umbrella, which was thoughtful. The owner couple are charming people and helpful, as is the young man who was managing the restaurant downstairs.

The breakfast buffet was fine. The WiFi connection was not so good in the room, better downstairs.

If you want a moderately-priced hotel in the center of Würzburg, you can surely stay here.

Ken and Susan

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for and get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Dortmunder Hof is a small, intimate family-run hotel; centrally located just a few minutes walk from the center of Wurzburg, the Marketplatz and 10 minutes to the train station. After a 5 week driving tour of Germany and Italy, this was our favorite hotel and restaurant. The staff makes the difference. The wife operates the hotel side and the husband the restaurant and wine bar. A typical small hotel, some rooms are small, some large. The rooms were immaculately clean and well furnished. There is an elevator. The internet is free and the connection is great.

Each night, the restaurant was almost full with many more locals than guests, always a sign superb, reasonably priced. A good selection of wine and over 25 flavors of Schnapps to sample. The breakfast was delicious. A nice sized buffet set out each morning in the downstairs restaurant. An assortment of juices, breads, jams, butters, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts and cereals.

.The hotel is recommended by both Rick Steves and Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a small, family-owned hotel with attached restaurant. The room was very small, but the location, with shopping and restaurants nearby, is excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful - the day we arrived was very hot, and they immediately offered us drinks. The internet connection in our room didn't work, but the owner immediately set me up in the restaurant, brought me a drink and some nuts. Breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. As in most German hotels, the rooms are not air-conditioned and the street noise can be loud if you leave the window open. I would definitely stay here again but upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hester52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVER FALLS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent our first night in Germany here. A good location near the old part of the city. Parking is available for a reasonable price in a garage near by. The rooms are adequate and the owners friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our best meal of the trip in the restaurant at the hotel. My husband said he also had his favorite beer here as well, a very dark smokey brew.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.1 mi away
Greifensteiner Hof Hotel
Greifensteiner Hof Hotel
#35 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#19 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alter Kranen
Hotel Alter Kranen
#11 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni

Property: Hotel Dortmunder Hof Garni
Address: Innerer Graben 22, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing