We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about service!”

Buergerspital Weinstuben
Ranked #20 of 348 Restaurants in Wurzburg
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's about service!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a nicely situated weinstube/restaurant between the station and the Residenz, in a picturesque courtyard of the historical old folks' home. So, nice ambiance. The food is quite good, with lots of flavour,local specialties and imagination. Alas, the experience is spoiled by the attitude of the staff, who tend to treat customers as tedious distractions from what self-important jobs are clearly more central that service. Also the courtyard is inhabited by smokers so one is at risk if preferring the outside. But this seems true of Germany generally. Why smoking is permitted anywhere on a licensed food premise is beyond me. It also means that the top views over the valley, schools (etc) are liable to be ruined by cigarette or cigar smoke.

So, great ambiance (with reservations as above), brilliance in the kitchen, well-chosen wine list, and a 50/50 chance of being treated like something the cat brought in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noshmonster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    98
    33
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the pain.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Upon reading good reviews about this restaurant my extended family and I made our way to this restaurant. Upon arrival we were ignored completely. We are not ignorant tourists and have lived in Germany for a few years. We had to approach the waiters for a table and were them spoken to very rudley in reply. We were eventually shown a table in much disdain and then promptly ignored. Menus were only given when the nearby table had finally finished perusing the menu. We were them left alone for over 45 min. We tried to gain the attention of the staff and in the end we just gave up and left. There are many other nice restaurants within the vicinity.
Don't bother!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLover0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Good Choice for Wine Drinkers”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Burgerspital Weinstuben is a very nice place to have lunch (which we did) and presumably dinner. It also located fairly close to the Wurzburg Residenz (Prince-Bishop's Palace) which is a must visit if you're in Wurzburg.

Please remember that this is a weinstuben (a wine bar). If you don't like wine, the food is fine, but why would you go here? Burgerspital is one of the big local wine estate (you can see the vineyards) from anywhere in Wurzburg, and you can get their extremely good Franconian wine at the Burgerspital Weinstuben. If you have American tastes, make sure you ask for a dry wine which is pronounced "trocken" in German. Also, one of the grapes that grows very nicely in the Wurzburg region is Silvaner, so by all means get a Silvaner Trocken. You'll pay somewhere around 20+ Euros a bottle, but the wine you'll be drinking comes from grape vines on the hills surrounding Wurzburg. While the Riesling is good, in my experience, it was not as good as the Silvaner.

Any while you can get lots of hot dishes on the menu including brats, knockwurst, steak, schnitzel, etc. (the wursts were very good), you can also get various cold cuts, cheese, smoked trout, etc. -- food that will enhance your enjoyment of the wine. Remember -- this is a weinstuben.

As far as the facilities, there are a number of rooms, some more modern than the others. Our waitress was very friendly (half German, half American) and accommodating, but some waiters may be more abrupt. I wouldn't worry about it, you'll get served and you;ll enjoy it.

However, I would also recommend that readers try the Juliusspital, another Weinstuben run by a charitable association. I gave that one five stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
431 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Experience Great Food”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is worth a visit if you are in Wurzburg. The quatlity of the food and the service is excellent. They have a great selection of both food and wine. We ate both in the new part and in the old part. The menu is the same but totally different and worth trying both.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Over done food and poor service”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We went to this restaurant because the concept of profits benefitting the elderly was interesting. The building was part of a monastery. The interior is very authentic. The food choices are German. The wine list is long. The food was not good and the service was curt and sparse.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank payingitforward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buergerspital Weinstuben also viewed

 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Buergerspital Weinstuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing