We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jugendherberge Wurzburg
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

German youth hostels are very good. Nice and clean, comfortable and great value for money. Breakfast was superb. The hostel is a former women's prison. We were lucky enough to have a view of the castle and vineyards out the window. Loved it in wurzburg!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

My friends and I stayed at the hostel for a week and despite the fact we made plenty of noise at all times of the day, all the staff were kind to us. The room was quite small but did the job! The beds were fairly comfortable but sadly there were communal showers. But i guess that's what to expect with the price of the room! Also I didn't try the breakfast but my friends weren't too happy with it, mcdonalds always seemed the better option. Although the place wasn't the best I've ever stayed in, it was secure and located in a pleasant/picturesque area. The main problem was that the doors are locked at midnight but only reopen at 6.30 which was a problem for us since we planned to spend long nights out at the weinfest. All in all i recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the area on a budget but if you have to money, I'd possibly try and find a hotel rather than hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kkwc_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hostel is located on the opposite side of town from the train station but we managed to find it quite easily by taking a tram from the station to near the hostel. Just behind the hostel is the beautiful Fortress Marienberg which can be accessed by a path running immediately behind the hostel building.

The hostel is large but the room I stayed in with three bunks (six beds) was quite small, though it was clean and quiet. There were lockers in the room along with a table and chairs. The toilet and shower facilities were good and located just at the end of the corridor.

The hostel offers free WIFI but the connection is poor so the signal could not make it to my room and instead I had to use it in the lobby area.

Like all Deutsche Jugendherberge (German Youth Hostel Association) hostels, this is very well organised and family orientated. The breakfast was exceptionally good with sliced meats, cheeses, bread, jams, cereals and juices.

I would definitely stay in this hostel again if in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powermetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The youth hostel is in a large building which used to be a women's prison. The rooms are a decent size with good bathrooms, although there are a lot of stairs (there's a lift/elevator too). We had a very friendly welcome and the breakfast was good too, although it's a huge breakfast room and noisy. The hostel is just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful town centre, along the river. However it's also near a main road and it was noisy in the morning from quite early on.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dominik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Juergen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
#24 of 46 in Wurzburg
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#6 of 46 in Wurzburg
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.6 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Kraus
Brauerei Gasthof Kraus
#37 of 46 in Wurzburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Wurzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Wurzburg

Address: Fred-Joseph-Platz 2, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wurzburg
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Jugendherberge Wurzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing