We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Wurzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Sydney
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My colleagues and I had a long stay here this time. Staff were friendly and attentive, breakfast was sensational every morning and even the little things such as laundry services etc just worked perfectly. It's a great location in Wurzburg and an easy walk to pretty much anywhere in the "CBD" area which is littlered with restaurants, cafes and the like. Much better than my first time here. Rates were very good and parking was easy, cheap and secure. Would be happy to come back again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bed that cannot be split
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    178
    178
    64
    14
See reviews for
49
125
31
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Well situated as part of the Würzburg Congress Center, near the river, some rooms and the breakfast restaurant have a great view at the Fortress across the river. 6 mins walking time to the city center. Very quiet rooms available lookint at the inner courtyard. "Comfort room" good space for two, large wardrobe, mattress very good, bathroom good. But: the hotel is some 29 years old, despite the efforts of the management to do a step by step renovation (responses to other comments) the bathroom and, especially the pool and sauna area cannot hide their age both in style and functionality.
The staff shows a genuine friendliness (by the way a characteristic of the people of Würzburg), requests are fulfilled at once.
Parking is very affordable (currently 8EUR per day); did not test the web (not free). Breakfast is very good.
Would be nice to hear that the Maritim headquarters will invest into this prime hotel in the near future to make it fit for the next 29 years.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms to the inner courtyard, but if you like a view, ask for such rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our hotel and for your kind feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Hotel Würzburg and will gladly share your positive feedback about our breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our staff.

Also your comments concerning the bathrooms and pool area are taken seriousely and will be communicated to our headquarters. We would like to note, that we have started renovating our bathrooms and will follow through on this until aproximately June and will have 60 new bathrooms installed.

It would be our pleasue to welcome you again soon and are looking forward to your next visit in Würzburg.

Best regards
Maritim Hotel Würzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Myers FL
Level Contributor
264 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is not my favorite hotel in Wurzburg but it is the closest to the Christmas Market. The rooms are clean and the breakfast buffet hot and adequate. My complaint with the hotel is the bar. The hours are very limited and there was one woman working the two nights we were there. The bar was full as there didn't seem to be any other place nearby. The woman seemed overworked and not happy about it. Since the bar was filled with Americans, they all wanted prompt, efficient service. We waited over 15 minutes for our bill and finally walked up to the bar and waited another 10. Eventually, a young man appeared from somewhere and slowly walked over to the bar and very reluctantly took our money! This is the type of bar that could make lots of money for this hotel but it needs a couple of friendly servers, someone manning the bar and some extended hours. This is a good, solid place to stay that is very typical of German hotels, efficient but not very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns auf der Internetplattform tripadvisor.de zu bewerten.

Unser Ziel ist es, dass sich jeder Gast bei uns wohlfühlt. Wir freuen uns daher sehr über die lobenden Worte zu unserem Frühstücksbuffet und unseren Zimmern.

Dass Sie sich in unserer Hotelbar nicht wohlgefühlt haben, bedauern wir sehr. Die Zufriedenheit unserer Gäste steht für uns in den Abteilungen an oberster Stelle und wir haben Ihr Feedback entsprechend weitergegeben, damit so etwas nicht noch einmal vorkommt.

Wir bedanken uns sehr für Ihren Aufenthalt und freuen uns, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in Würzburg wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Ihr
Maritim Hotel Würzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Maritim Hotel for a business meeting. The hotel is in a great location but has the charme of the 80s. The carpets, the furniture, the TVs and the bathrooms should get some upgrates, but overall the rooms are clean. The breakfast was ok, lunch and dinner were not tasty at all! Cold, no spices and no variety. The stuff was quite young and some of them used their best endeavors but some were very unfriendly and ignorant.

Room Tip: Dont forget to ask for a room to the atrium, the rooms with view to the Main river are very loud. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a very nice two night stay in Wurzburg. We encountered no problems other than very warm nights as most German hotels are not air conditioned. Staff were accommodating. We experienced no problems. Good standard German breakfast buffet. Rooms are clean and roomy. Nice indoor pool area. Large underground parking. Ideal location with easy access to the riverfront or city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Overall the hotel is nice. Some of the staff (restaurant) are outstanding and go out of their way to help you. However some of the front desk staff could use a attitude adjustment. The third time we stayed at the hotel we were greeted by a young girl that really didn't like her evening shift job. Remember it is a lot easier to keep a returning customer then to go looking for a new one. The room we had did not have air conditioning even though it had controls for it. We had to sleep with the windows open which allowed mosquitoes in during the night. This hotel seems to be geared to the business crowed (1 night stay) and the bus crowd. The hotel is close to all the sites, easy walk to the market place and some great resturants.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side a quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a good solid hotel in the heart of Wurzburg. We stayed one night here as part of a bus tour group. The hotel is well located within 5 mins of the old town of Wurzburg. This hotel is old school. They are still using metal keys for the rooms and as other reviewers have noted; the lobby staff aren't the most friendly. They have wifi everywhere but it isn't free. You can buy a 24 hour credit for €4.50 at the lobby. Not the best hotel in the world.. but this property is all about location. It is a short walk to the heart of old town Wurzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Rebstock
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Wurzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Wurzburg

Property: Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Address: Pleichertorstr. 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Wurzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally and not very far from the main railway station, the elegant Maritim Hotel Würzburg stands waiting for its guests. Located directly on the banks of the Main, it offers a splendid view of the Marienberg fortress towering high above the city. You can comfortably explore the baroque inner city with its numerous sights on foot. Elegant ambience, together with friendly hospitable people, and the direct connection to the newly renovated and extended Würzburg Congress Center create ideal pre-requisites for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Maritim Hotel Wurzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing