We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Walfisch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Walfisch
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My room had a view of fortress, the hotel is near the center, near the old bridge and good restaurants.
Don´t have parking and the room is small.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Inescarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2008

I booked a room early in 2007 for a 3 night stay in Dec. I could not wait to see the fortress from my window - What a BIG disappointment - The one tiny window looked on to a parking lot. The room was so-o-o small we had difficulty finding room for our 4 large suitcases. I do know rooms are small in Europe but this was unbelievable . The bathroom could barely hold one person (really)! There were only 2 of us in the room. I felt compelled to say something . I went calmly the next morning & explained my disappointment to the desk. He was a short & said I picked the non-view, less expensive room over the internet. I explained I dealt directly with the hotel & I was never asked if I wanted a room with a view. I said I wanted to move but there was none for that night & he would try to get one for the next night (our last)- which he did & they did move our belongings to the room with a view which I paid 30 more Euros for ---but by that time the thrill was gone .Make sure you do not get room106. Also we paid 10 euros for parking , per night & when I went to exit I had about 2 inches on each side of the car. It took about 1/2 hour to squeese out of the garage

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MississippiKathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

As a family of four, the hotel recommended us to their "appartment", located in an building about 1 minute around the corner. This worked fine for us. The appartment is more accurately a studio, with a good sized room and a small kitchen. Everything was very clean, and well, if simply, appointed.

We took breakfast in the hotel dining room, and enjoyed a typical continental buffet, with hot and cold food.

Overall, we had a good stay at the Walfisch, and very much enjoyed the sights of Wurzburg.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Hotel Walfisch was, way back in 1985, a fine gem of a place: clean, neat, efficient, wonderful restaurant. This has taken an imperceptible change for the worse since then. They joined the Minotel chain of hotels, for one. The service has detiorated, for two: less polite, even for Germany, helpful and so on. The room in which we (family of 3) stayed had not been painted for a long time, marks all over. We had requested a large room for 3 and were assured no problem: with the rollaway bed, there was barely room to sidle to the bathroom once one had three small rollie suitcases in and open. The latter point is a common stickler though for European places of a certain age: the rooms were meant for stacking folks in tightly or for 2, your choice. The US idea (2 doubles or queens and some room to move) is not available in older buildings with small rooms: so instead of knocking out walls, you get a small room. Word to the wise on that one. (The alternative of course is something like the Frankfurt Marriott; excellent, comfy, spacious, for about 300 euros...gulp! unless you have lots of flyer miles to burn on hotels). The Walfisch overlooks the Main, is a great location, looks out at the Schloss (illuminated at night, quite pretty) but the hotel is no longer the draw it was: check out elsewhere before looking here at these prices.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

The Walfisch Hotel is situated on the bank of the Main opposite the Marienburg Fortress. Very picturesque. It's only a short walk to the centre of the town, the Old Main Bridge and most of the tourist attractions.

The hotel is clean and pleasant, and the room we had was spacious and well-appointed. The restaurant was good and reasonable. The staff were at all times friendly, efficient and courteous. I'm pretty sure English is spoken. I got by in German.

The name "Walfisch", even though it is spelt the same way as the German word for "whale" actually means "Welsh Fish". The misunderstanding arose by way of a sign writer's error during a renovation and was let stand. No whales in the Main!

We loved the town and the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ozjok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Main, da diese einen tollen Ausblick auf die Feste und das Käppele bieten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer zur Straßenseite haben sicher eine schöne Aussicht. Hinterhof geht gar nicht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr-Raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.8 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#16 of 46 in Wurzburg
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Melchiorpark
Hotel Melchiorpark
#13 of 46 in Wurzburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walfisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walfisch

Address: Am Pleidenturm 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Walfisch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walfisch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walfisch Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing