We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was the first we visited during our recent trip to Germany. It's a typical European chain hotel. Small rooms, average bathroom, average shower, comfortable bed, good amenities. The staff was courteous and helpful, and we had a great chat with the hotel bartender during one particularly late-night session.

The real greatness of this hotel lies in its 7 minute walking distance to the main bridge of Wuerzburg. My girlfriend and I are walkers so this hotel's proximity to the city brought it from three stars to four in my review. If you read some of my other reviews, you'll get a sense of how I like to review hotels based on breakfast, rooms, staff, and proximity. I can't really remember any of those details about this hotel, which should give you some sense as to the impression it left (or didn't leave) on me.

Again though, it's proximity to the city proper was perfect for what we wanted to accomplish, and if you like to walk, then this is a great place to stay in Wuerzburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiteraryMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.



I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.



Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.



Sincerely,
Marko Striese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    384
    129
    27
    12
See reviews for
99
395
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I found it easy to get to and from the city center from this hotel. It was a short 8 or so minutes walk, down the street and across the bridge (there is a fabulous ice cream place right after you cross the bridge and reach the city center. The flavor changed daily. yum!)
I arrived by train and it was about a 7€ taxi ride to the hotel. The front desk staff was very kind, however I felt bad at times for them since many times when I walked by there was only one person working and several people in line who needed help. The room was a decent size, the bathroom a tad small but ok. I loved the decor of the room. The bed was too hard for my taste. An iron and ironing board were available for pick-up at the front desk. My room was on the first floor and looked out onto the parking lot. Because of this, I didn't feel comfortable leaving my drapes open. I didn't want the whole parking lot to see me lying in bed or walking around. The free wifi was great. There were over 100 tv stations however they were almost all in German and the only English stations being news, which I prefer not to watch when I am traveling. Breakfast was a nice European spread with the typical meats and cheese plus muesli, pasties, eggs and bacon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank malakialj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,
Marko Striese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

hotel mercure in Wurzburg is very nice and modern hotel which is situated 5minutes walk to the town over bridge.
Room was little small but very nice decorated and clean.Also is possible park your car on main road next to hotel for free.
I didn't like only 1 think / breakfast isn't include price
we will definitely come back.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renousek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,
Marko Striese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The receptionist congratulated us on our privileged upgrade, which turned out to be the worst room in the hotel. Do not accept ground any floor rooms. They have heavy privacy tinted windows with limited opening which makes the rooms dark and clostraphobic. When we decided not to accept our complimentary upgrade the receptionist said the hotel was full, which was not true. This hotel is popular with coach tours and to make their lives easier the receptionists slot the coach passengers into blocks of better rooms on higher floors. Breakfast was 16 eu per person. However there are many good cafés nearby and 12 minutes walk away in the town centre which are much cheaper and better value. Parking on site is convenient and 5 euro per day.

Room Tip: Do not accept ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Privilege room. The room is newly renovated with modern furnishings and is very clean. We would recommend to stay in the Privilege room for families with children, as it is almost twice as big as a standard room.

The hotel is about 300 metres walk to the bridge linking to the town centre. We enjoyed the breakfast very much. The fruits are very fresh, and the quality of the food is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,
Marko Striese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was the best hotel I've stayed during my vacation in Germany. The room was clean and wifi was steady. It only took 5 minutes walking to the church or restaurant. Beautiful view in this city , fresh air, and kindly staff. I will definitely choose Mecure next time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry030124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,
Marko Striese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed there for one night which was a big mistake because Wurzburg is a huge city, the largest one in the Romantic Road, with dozens of restaurantes, many churches, palaces, castles, etc. We would definietely have stayed 3 nights there. The hotel is just five minutes walking from the greatest bridge (Alte Mainbruecke) where you can stay hours drinking their local white wine (delicious!) and taking pictures at the sunset. The room has air conditioning and a good toilet/shower. I don't recommend the breakfast for its price, do go to the places near the bridge and have a nice seat for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardoCarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko S, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Würzburg am Mainufer. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marko Striese
Direktor / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
960 reviews
1.0 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.5 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#5 of 46 in Wurzburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 46 in Wurzburg
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#16 of 46 in Wurzburg
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer

Property: Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
Address: Dreikronenstr. 27, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Marienberg fortress (1.2 Miles/2 km), you will find the fully air-conditioned 3-star Hotel Mercure Wurzburg am Mainufer. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from the historic old town, is situated close to the Wurzburg Congress Centrum (approx. 547 Yards/0.5 Km) and has direct access to the River Main hiking trail. All 116 rooms were completely renovated in September 2012 and feature high-speed Internet and free WIFI. The hotel also has a bar and an indoor car park (subject to charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wuerzburg Am Mainufer
Accor Wuerzburg Am Mainufer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing