We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special mark for staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

It was not the first time that I stayed at this place. Most of the friendly staff remembered me. The Hotel has been extended lately and for the new guest, it might be a bit confusing to finding the allocated room in case it is located in the older part of the hotel. Also parking can be a bit of a challenge at times, though they added a good dozen of places just beyond the hotel grounds about 100-150m walk away. The view is fantastic and breathtaking over the river and Wurzburg. The rooms are clean and tidy; the restaurant of the hotel offers excellent local and international cuisine. I've gotten used to the minor shortcomings and therefore will come again; the place has a 'feel good' atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_stanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

The view from the balcony of the room was amazing. I could see castles in the distance. The balcony door was left open allowing bugs to enter the room. I had to sleep with the light on for fear of being attacked by the bugs. They were harmless (no bites in the morning). Trash can still has trash from previous guests. Also found leftover toilettries of prior guests. Bed looks clean. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was quite delicious with lentil soup, beef goulash, and yogurt pudding. Waiter was attractive and professional. Great view from hotel restaurant also. Breakfast has a good selection with boiled eggs, croissants, muffins and fruits...Chocolate chunk muffin was very tasty. The room for breakfast was too small for the number of guests. Some had no place to sit so they stood right by the juice station and the buffet table to drink and eat. This hotel has the potential to be excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyaltyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed here recently for a two day sales conference.
The building work previously referred to is still going on but looks like it is nearing completion. This will give an improvement because, as well as the additional room section, it looks like the small reception at the back of the hotel will move to a much larger location at the front of the hotel as you come into the long thin car park and be close to the restaurant and excellent upstairs outside terrace area.
I cannot improve on the description of the previous reviewer who referred to Mad King Ludwig being the interior designer. The hotel, or at least the old original part and restaurant areas ooze character with an overload of old Bavarian style décor (yes this area is officially part of Bavaria I believe, but the locals prefer to refer to themselves as coming from Franconia.), with plenty of heraldic shields, large oil portraits, Suits of armour and the odd cannon dotted about ( I kid you not, I counted two canons in the restaurant section and there could be others hidden in the maze of different level floors.
Unfortunately the new room build section is just plain standard hotel décor and nowhere near as entertaining as the old section of the hotel. Who knows, they may dig him up and get King Ludwig to decorate the new section.
The food and wine we had in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service levels considering they were catering for about 70 people in one sitting.
My room was in the new section and it was large with a modern style bathroom with walk in shower, and a small balcony section that provided excellent views over the city of Wurzburg.
The only gripes I can have are that the hotel restaurant, and even the new room section do not have air conditioning and it was quite warm in the room despite it not being high summer. And the hotel does have internet connection but they charge you a daily rate for it.
Unfortunately I cannot comment on its value for money as I didn’t pay as it was all wrapped up in the conference package. But I found this to be an interesting place to stay if you are visiting the Franconia region of central Germany.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Forewarned is fore-armed, or so we say in the UK, and you will need to brace yourself , if you have a restrained aesthetic, to survive the visual onslaught as you enter this hotel. Pastiche has been taken to new heights, or depths, in this madcap decorative trip through Bavarian architectural history, diverting here and there to Florence and Venice along the way. We have shields; we have coats of arms; we have little painted plaster putti and other religious memorabilia; we have wrought iron, trompe l'oeil (though not much trompe, it has to be said) panelling; industrially-loomed tapestry; fluorescent acetate 'brocade', and colour juxtapositions guaranteed to give those of a delicate decorative constitution an instant migraine. We have absolutely everything. Except restraint.

And if only for this and nothing else, I would urge you to choose this hotel if you are in the area. It's one of those experiences you will be really glad to have had.

But I hate to spoil the fun. As well as all this you will receive a warm welcome from the friendly and helpful staff, a very comfortable room opening to a wonderful view over Wuerzburg (which is only five minutes down the hill), beds you get a good night's sleep in, a clean modern bathroom and a tempting breakfast actually worth what they charge for it.

And now for two, no three, practical tips: if you are approaching the hotel from Wuerzburg it is NOT the one on the left with a massive sign outside it 'Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh'. It is the one a few hundred metres further on on the right with a tiny sign outside 'Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh'. The other tip is to consider how you are going to park your car: the car park is very long and narrow with not many opportunities for turning round, which means if you park too near the reception you could find yourself having to reverse a long way when you come to leave. And then the third: you may need sun-glasses.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowVoyager56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Previous reviews made this hotel sound like an idyllic location in the vineyards. It is a facility that needs massive renovation and the current remodeling of the terrace area can not rescue what else needs to be done. The hallways were dark and out of the sixties or seventies in decor. The restaurant was acceptable, but the pathway to the restaurant seventies and depressing. The best part was definitely the room. The bathroom was well designed with a large counter and two sinks. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The balcony was essentially unusable and the mansard style roof that also served as the lower part of the balcony blocked what could have been a great view if the shrubbery wasn't so overgrown you could only see scraggly bushes, trees, and ugly rooftops.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moody1in2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Wurzburg is a delightful city with much to see.There seem to be plenty of hotels in the centre,but staying at this hotel gives a rural aspect as well.The immediate surroundings are wooded outer suburbs,with a magnificent view right across the city to the vineyards on the slopes beyond.The downhill walk to the centre takes 20-25 minutes,with a choce of at least three traffic-free routes through the verdant surroundings of the artillery fortifications surrounding the Marienburg palace.For the uphill,we used the bus or taxi,both cheap.
The hotel consists of a 1970s stack of balconied rooms concealed from the road by a fanciful polychrome brick 1890s chalet.An extension,to provide a terrace with car parking beneath,new entrance,and a few more rooms,is under construction.The builders are very tidy,but car parking is very restricted at present.The only detriment for the non car traveller is that the back stairs have to be used for room or restaurant access.
Breakfast is excellent,with hot and cold buffet.Real tea can be made in real pots,with really hot water.The dinner menu has rather an Italian bias.Service is superb in the restaurant.The reception staff are most helpful.My shirts were washed and ironed in 6 hours.
A vast amount has recently been spent on decor in the public areas-entirely covered in neo-mediaeval wallpaintings,ashlar patterns,coats -of-arms,and even a few obese cherubs.There is a cannon in the function room.
Our room(205) was on the third floor,up very fine marble stairs,which I was annoyed to see some overloaded wheeled cases being dragged down,fortunately without apparent damage.We had an entrance lobby with various wardrobes and storage fittings,unfortunately badly lit,a standard size bathroom(shower only) and a bedroom with a twin mattress"double" and a third bed.The double was comfortable,but the single was an ordinary cheap soft British type bed-the room would be better without it.The minibar held some excellent local wines.All the decor was new and fresh,especially the heraldic pattern carpet. The room had no fan or airconditioning,but ,being north facing and at 600 feet above the town,seemed very comfortable on a warm day.
The one fitting in sore need of improvement was the clingy plastic shower curtain.A proper sliding door enclosure could be fitted with no structural alterations.This ,and the missing light bulb in the lobby,are my only real criticisms.I shall be back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This hotel is under renovation. The restaurant is not open but they did do a breakfast buffet for our group. Our room was clean but several of the rooms belonging to others in our group on the first floor were musty, smelled of smoke and were dirty. It was difficult to get to because of all the construction equipment. I would not recommend this hotel while it is under renovation. Maybe after all is put back together it will be fine. It looks nothing like the picture on the Ring Hotels' website. Soap dispenser in the bathroom was not in the shower but on the other side of the sink. There would be no way to use while in the shower without getting out.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam6501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
2.0 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
983 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#17 of 46 in Wurzburg
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 46 in Wurzburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh

Address: Hexenbruchweg 10, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Hotel Wittelsbacher Hoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing