We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Schoenleber
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We atayed here for 2 nights in early Nov, at the start of our drive along the Romantic Road. We had a double-room which was cozy & clean. Our room had a tiny 14" tv (it could've been smaller), not the easiest to watch if you're lying in bed or if 2 people are trying to watch it at the same time. If you don't care for German language programmes or CNN and BBC, then it shouldn't matter. The interior decor is terribly dated and a bit depressing to look at especially in winter. Hotel reception runs 24 hrs, the staff are helpful and speak good English. Ulrich who runs the place was particularly helpful in giving us driving directions to our next destination. The hotel is centrally located so it was walking distance to many of the tourist sights. There is a small supermarket next door, and various shops along the same street. Omnibus bar diagonally across the street is highly recommended for live music in the evenings - check listings outside the bar for information. If you are driving, parking is in a separate building about 200m away from the hotel and costs €8 per day, make sure you get the parking ticket stamped by the hotel reception. The hotel charges for internet usage @ €1/half hour or €5/24hrs. Room price includes buffet breakfast for 2.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

I don't know what the reviews are about dark rooms and gaudy furniture. Our room was bright and modern. Even though it was right on the main street it was extremely quiet. The staff was as helpful as they could possibly be and the breakfast was adequate. The only downside is that parking is about 4 blocks away. The hotel does give a discount for parking and watches for parking patrols while you unload outside the hotel. It also has an elevator. We very much enjoyed our last night in Germany at Hotel Schoenleber.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbearmom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

During our week long trip to Germany, this was probably our least favorite hotel. Please do not get me wrong, it is fine for a budget hotel close to the city center and we did not have any problems or issues at all during our one night stay. It just seems for the same price there are better options available and I wish I did more homework before booking. The hotel serves its purpose...but if you want more character or "charm" you can do better. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telleroftruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The service was good. The room was very dark, very small, outdated furnishings. The lobby smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Bathroom uninviting to the point I couldn't wait until we left the next morning. Location was good. I can not say there was anything good except the location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Our unplanned stopover in Wurzburg turned out to be very pleasant. With flights leaving the following day, we booked a room here after an online search resulted in extremely expensive rooms in Frankfurt. Although basic, the rooms here were very comfortable and clean, and the elevator was a pleasant surprise. Location couldn't be better--a 15 min. walk to the main train station or places of historic interest. Because our early check-out meant we'd miss breakfast, the staff prepared a very hearty sack lunch for us. We were delighted to find that the train into Frankfurt goes on to the airport--no transfers! Our room w/private bath was 89 euros. My son had a room with very nice bath down the hall for 45.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGB1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel is an good value. Our room was a double with a wash bowl. The toilet was conveniently located across the hall. The shower was seemingly inconveniently located on the fourth floor but the elevator eliminated the issue well. The room was extremely clean, and cleaned for our second night. The windows are double paned and there are two windows. Need fresh air, no problem there is a fan that brings it in without the noise. Is the room quiet? Yes, apparently there was some sort of street party that night judging from the debris in the morning, we heard none of it. The service at the front desk was friendly and jovial. The breakfast was excellent with a automated espresso machine, selection of cheeses and cold cut meats, yogurt, cereals, croissants, etcetera. I wish I know all hotels were built this well for this comparative price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The hotel was clean, breakfast was nice, service was great. We stayed in a double room with washbowl (no bathroom). It actaully was a great option to save money and we had no regrets about not having the bathroom in our room. Comfortable room. Nice location to rent our car and head down the romantic road route.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Top Hotel Amberger
Top Hotel Amberger
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wurzburg
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#19 of 46 in Wurzburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.0 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#28 of 46 in Wurzburg
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Schoenleber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Schoenleber

Address: Theaterstr. 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: £64 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Schoenleber 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Schoenleber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonleber Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing