We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schlosshotel Steinburg
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A magnificiebt old castle with a breatgtaking river view. Finest hotel personnel. You realy feel different. The hotel restaurant has a very rich menu. The service is excellent - fast and clean. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable. You realy feel like you are living in a castle. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have excellent view if you are distyrbed by the trains noise down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a very nice lunch with local red wine on the terrace of the Restaurant/Hotel. The views of Wuerzburg and the Marienburg Castle is breathtaking and the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic. The cousine is average, but very good service and friendly wait staff. We took a taxi from the Wuerzburg Bahnhof to the hotel (price of the taxi was approx. 12 Euros) and we walked down to the Wuerzburg City through trails located on the vineyards right below the hotel. The walk from the hotel to the city is very nice and takes about 20 minutes, however from the city to the hotel you will need to take a taxi, or a car. Taxis are waiting at the "Alte Mainbruecke" and the Bahnhof (train station) in the City of Wuerzburg.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Room 12, Castle room with river view during our visit. It was a lovely corner room on the second floor, just above the breakfast room. This is an older hotel/castle, so don't expect any modern amenities- no air condition, no in-room safe, no iron, no bathroom toiletries (wall soap dispenser only). Internet signal was weak. There is also no elevators. But all this actually adds to the castle feel and old world charm. The floors and bed would creak any time we would move, and we could also hear every move our neighbors made. The train was loud even though it was down the hill, but the hotel can't be blamed for this. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast had a nice selection and you had the option to eat it in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texastikigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The traditional hotel is a gem above the city of Würzburg with its view on the river, the citadel and the whole old city. The rooms are traditional as you would expect in an old manor (no air-conditioning or wi-fi, the building is protected by the Historical building commission) check the sites though http://www.steinburg.com/index_en.html as they are lovely.
The newly finished contemporary aisle conceived for groups and seminars has lovely modern rooms with all kinds of modern accouterments (air-conditioning, electric blinds, wi-fi, double shower), motion sensor lights and views, views, views
We also had a gourmet dinner at the restaurant, on the terrasse, with regional wine tasting (stick to the whites) and visited the amazing cellar, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose between castle style (and no air-conditioning) or very contemporary but alsways ask for a riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

What a lovely building and setting. We only stayed one night, but the room was charming and the staff was excellent. We enjoyed the pool area with views of all of Wurzburg. And the restaurant is not to be missed. Lucky for us, most of the staff spoke very good English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is not easy find a castle in Germany which has lovely rooms and a superb location!

For a castle hotel it is pretty large. They have over 50 rooms in the castle and they have now extended another modern section to the hotel with an additional 21 rooms. The rooms in the castle do not have any air conditioning and neither do they have lifts.

We stayed in the rural castle rooms which are larger than the Dream Castle Rooms. Rooms are lovely and have an i-pod docking station, flat screen television and the mini bar is included in the room rate (the bar is filled with soft drinks, beer and snacks). The bathrooms are pretty small with only a bathtub.

Tip: If you prefer a quiet room choose a room at the back of the hotel. It is pretty noisy to the front and especially in summer you hear the summer concerts from town, the trains as well as the guests on the terrace as this place is extremely popular for weddings and functions!

On top of that we were lucky as it was extremely hot (36°C) in Würzburg, the rooms going out towards the back are cooler as you don't get the afternoon sun and those rooms going out to the front get hot and stuffy.

As this hotel mainly gets used for functions there are no lovely rooms to withdraw and to enjoy a drink. There also isn't a bar to meet for drinks. So, other than the terrace which is superb there are no other decent options.

Surprisingly the food was excellent, we were suspicious because they mainly cater for events and the hotel had two weddings going on the same day! A great choice was the 6 course fingerfood menu. Each course was superb and from the logistics point of view amazing. You can select any 6 courses you wish. The meat, fish, etc was perfectly prepared and was soft and juicy. The food is pricey but therefore the location superb

The service in the hotel is also extremely helpful. They run around like bumble bees trying to make you feel comfortable. They really went out of their way. But, if you are planning to have a quick lunch then rather eat out elsewhere as it takes too long. We only had a salad and we sat for 2 hours!

A nice touch of the hotel is that there is always water and fruit in the reception area.

We did not use the spa and sauna so I cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room that go out to the back of the hotel as they are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was actually traveling on business, but I loved it. Had one of the best meals in Germany here, but it was pricey. I wish I had been here with my wife. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: I had a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPFAMILYTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
1.4 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
992 reviews
1.5 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 46 in Wurzburg
334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Steinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Steinburg

Address: Reussenweg 2, 97080 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: £128 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Steinburg 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Steinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Steinburg Hotel
Hotel Schloss Steinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing