We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refused VAT form, unfriendly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Franziskaner

Hotel Franziskaner
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Franziskaner
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Refused VAT form, unfriendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night (3 people in 2 rooms). Upon check-out, the hotel refused to use the VAT form stating it was "too complicated" and told us to figure it out at the airport! Ummm, we live in Germany. Ugh! So frustrating! The rooms were "okay", but the bathroom was incredibly small. Thankfully we stayed in the winter and didn't have to open the window because the street actually got quite loud between midnight and 4 am (I got hot and cracked the window...maybe a few bars were close??). Regardless, we would never stay here again nor recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cdezlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    35
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
19
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Basic but good; nice room, nice bathroom, friendly service (especially the nice lady at breakfast), breakfast good & German (love the blood pudding!), close to the city center. Th eonly con: the hotel's Internet: soooo slow!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

hotel was nice, we lucked out & got a large room with a balcony (only a few of these).
The bathroom was tiny, be aware if you are a large person, I am not a big person & barely fit in the shower, maybe ask there are large showers.
Room & bathroom were very clean, didn't hear neighbors, wifi was good.
We had a nice view towards the central square, the church bells were loud but not too early.
We didn't see many cafes near the hotel, but a 10 min walk takes you to the Alte Mainmuhle, we splurged & are at the restaurant on the river, so lovely, but you can also just have drinks on the bridge. Didn't try the restaurant next to the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice, staff was nice, we were able to park in front, but you have to pay during the day. There is a rook terrace, nice for some wine or star gazing.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony, they face the street but it's not loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Pros: Centrally Located (Small town, of course everywhere is almost central)

Cons: Unfriendly personnel, not helpful.
Very small rooms
Personnel do not speak English and every manual is in German (Yes, only English speaking person was the receptionist that you can not find after 17:00)
We asked to change the bed on a Saturday at 17ish and we were told that there were no service-personnel to do it on that day and time (Is this a hotel? Yes, we asked this question in German (We knew a little.))

We could have stayed at a nicer hotel with the amount of money that we paid :(

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kubilaysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Rebstock
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franziskaner

Property: Hotel Franziskaner
Address: Franziskanerplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franziskaner 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Franziskaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing