We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, but one receptionist needs customer training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Killaloe-Ballina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean hotel, but one receptionist needs customer training”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Like most reviewers here, I can concur that it's a nice hotel which is clean, minimalist, with free Wi-FI, and about a 10-15 min walk from the main train station. Breakfast is quite extensive but is not included in the price like most German hotels. It will cost you an extra €12. The elevator takes forever to hail, especially at breakfast time. It took me 10 mins to get from the 15th floor to the breakfast in reception, so plan for this extra wait time.

Unfortunately, a very good rating has to be downgraded to a poor experience with a quirky hotel policy and an arrogant male receptionist.
You have to pay a €20 cash deposit (not everyone carries cash in the correct currency) for an iron and ironing board!! I travel regularly all over the world for business and this is the first time I have ever encountered this. What's more, they expect you to lug it all the way back to the room yourself. Not great service and it comes off as extremely petty. Just how many iron and ironing boards are taken from the hotel each year? And couldn't they come up with a more cusotmer-friendly way to minimize thefts? Management needs to try harder!

The "best" part is that when I asked the aforementioned male receptionist to provide me with a receipt for the security deposit he refused. I respectively pointed out that it was the hotel's duty to provide a statement of the terms of exchange because they could claim (however unlikely) when I returned the iron and ironing board that I had in fact bought them, not paid a security deposit. He then proceeded to try to take the iron and ironing board from me telling me that if I didn't like the way they did business then tough luck. He then said defiantly that they were a hotel, not an ironing service (What? OK, you're not a restaurant either, but you sevrve food!). His attitude stank and he was full of arrogance. Rather than try to listen to the customer and resolve the issue, his response was it's my way or the highway. This person is absolutely unsuited to a customer facing role and the hotel would want to sort it out. On parting, the final irony was he said "oh you don't trust us". To which I pointed out it was they who were asking customers for a €20 security deposit, so it was really the hotel telling the guests they didn't trust them.
Anyway, I hope you don't have to iron anything and/or get to deal with this guy for anything slightly controversial if you chose this hotel.
Won't be staying there again when I travel to Wurzburg. The loss is greater than one person, as there were five of us from the one company staying at the hotel, so they will lose 5 peoples' custom, not just one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RHampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality G, Manager at GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your evaluation of our hotel. We were absolutly negative surprised, when we read about your situation at our reception. The described behaviour is absolutely not the standard of our hotels. We will try to find out, who is the described person and take the matching actions. We are more than sorry and please receive our urgent excuse. Kindest regards, Pia Leitner, Quality Manager, GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    222
    84
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
150
12
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for one night only but it was just enough.
Quick walk from the HB or if you're rolling bags then a short stop with the tram is more relaxing.
This hotel could be the tallest building in the city (dont quote me on this) so there is little chance that you would not find it easily even if it's a bit away from downtown. I find it plain ugly as this huge tall mass of bluish-green glass is completely out of place within the surrounding architecture or the city itself. But choice is hard to come by when you book only a few days in advance during the busiest of seasons.
We were amazed at the size of the groups of senior citizens pouring out of buses and into the lobby and made our way to the front desk fast. The front desk service was prompt because they cant afford the time to chat around with the guests, everytime it seemed there were far too many people going in and out the hotel compared to the size of the lobby area and the minimalistic entrance. Everything there seems dark gloomy and poorly lit and as such you do not want to spend more time there than it takes for you to get checked-in or checked-out.
When booking we selected a superior double on a higher floor with good views and we were not dissapointed. Wall to wall and floor to ceiling(almost) we had unobstructed views from the 13th floor all the way to the local castle and the hills beyond. The downside to this is that we had to rely completely on air conditioning as the windows lack even the slightest opening.
Spacious room and smallish bathroom and the feeling that one might have in an airport hotel: all very basic and just enough to make it work. There is quite a lot of moving space around the bed and a couple of armchairs so you could enjoy the views or even a small desk facing the window.
The breakfast is like everything else - you will survive and get enough energy to last till lunch.

This is a tricky review: having not spent the extra for the superior room we would not have been this "enthusiastic" about the room or about anything, but having spent that extra now it seems it wasn't that much value for money.
So it comes down to the room views in our opinion but you could always try it yourself and see how it fares.

Room Tip: a room as high up as you can facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a new hotel done out in a bright and modern style. It's about 15mins walk from the train station and is approx 20-25 mins walk from the town centre. The rooms are big, clean and everything is new and in good condition. A cute touch is mini bags of jelly sweets on the pillows. The bathrooms are minimal in style with just the very basics in terms of toiletries etc. We had nice views from the 8th floor. Staff were friendly and check in/out was quick and efficient.

We stayed as a group and it was a friends birthday over the weekend. It was nice that the hotel spotted this and there was a bottle of local red wine waiting in our friends room when she arrived. Wifi was free. We had room only as there are good options for brunch / breakfast in town.

This is a functional but comfortable hotel which was just what we wanted for our break as we spent little time there. It was good value and if you are here for leisure will suit those who don't mind the walk into town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonably priced business hotel. Our standard room was small but very serviceable and immaculately clean. Internet was free, as was parking. The hotel is within walking distance of the Residenze and other attractions. The restaurant has a nice menu, the food was good, and the price was reasonable. The staff was very helpful with directions. Perfect for a one trip to Wurzberg.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pilot123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
587 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

shall it be just holiday break or should it be business trip, I think Ghotel Wurzburg is good option to select! It is located within short walking distance from Wurzburg main train station, short walking to the Old Town... some or rooms are spacious, but some of them are smaller size. Upper floors' rooms offer great views to Wurzburg Old town or to slopes of vineyards; Breakfst is fine, but nothing special about it and if you like to sleep late, than don't take hotel breakfast, but go out and there are also small traditional cafe in surroundings of hotel.

conclusion - it is new, clean and with fine locatation!

Room Tip: try to get upper floor rooms, while than you will have a great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The G Hotel, predominantly a business hotel, is located quite close to the palace and is 15 mins walk into the centre of Wurzburg. We had booked through Booking.com and got a fair rate for an Executive hotel, however, like a lot of hotels in Germany there are no tea or coffee making facilities, which is a real let down.

We combined a business trip with some leisure and tagged 2 days on at the end of the conference, while the hotel and rooms are clean and relatively comfortable, the aircon heating and cooling system was indecipherable and the rooms were too hot most of the time. Also the staff were efficient if a little stand offish, a nice 'good morning' or 'hello how are you', are always welcome!

Breakfast nice with a wide selection to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for room above floor 7 facing the river and the fortress, nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmcg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality G, Manager at GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear guets,

thanks a lot that you commented on our Hotel. We are very sorry, that the Airconditioning in your room wasn't functioning as you describe it. In such a case, you should inform the reception directly, so that our staff can help you. The remarks concerning our front office staff will be part of a training, which we will start next week. It is very important, that we handle our guest in a way, that you feel welcome. We hope, you will be our guest again.

Kindest regards

Pia Leitner
Quality Manager, GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
340 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have already tested several hotels in Würzburg and until now this one is the best.
The check-in was fast and efficient, the room design is modern, the bathroom (no bath, only shower) was clean and also modern. I was on the 15th floor, the view was very nice. The breakfast was complete (fish, meat, fruits, juice,...). I also tried one night the restaurant of the hotel, the service was very good, good choices of german typical food with good prices.
One drawback, the lighting was poor in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
950 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
1.1 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#5 of 45 in Wurzburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#14 of 45 in Wurzburg
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 45 in Wurzburg
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg

Property: GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Address: Schweinfurter Str. 1-3, 97080 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing