We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly quiet”
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Kamloops
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quiet”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for one night on the last day of our honeymoon. Initially I was worried that it would be very noisy. The proprietor let us see the room and even choose between two of them (the only two left) before booking. With the windows open it was indeed noisy, but they are double paned and if shut they block out the street noise below. There is no AC, so I could see noise being a problem in summer when you need the windows to be open. Unfortunately they had no parking spots left (and there is a fee for the spot), so we ended up parking about eight blocks away. It took us a long time to get back and we were worried that he might have given our room away, but luckily not. The room had Wifi signal and was clean and comfortable. The location is right beside the town's walking tour, which he showed to us on a map, along with numerous restaurant recommendations. Very helpful! We ended up having a romantic meal at Alte Mainmuhle, which was excellent. The room did smell like smoke, but I'm not sure if it was designated as non-smoking or not.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gneissone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    34
    5
    11
See reviews for
17
24
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked this hotel in February for a July visit to Wurzburg. Unfortunately, our plans changed and we were unable to afford to go to Germany for our planned visit. I called to cancel four months ahead. Yes, four months!!! They already had charged my credit card in full and would not refund my money. (it was not the booking agents) I was happy to be charged a fee for their time of having to go on the computer to refund and etc. Absolutely not! The manager was so rude and unaccommodating. I would have understood if I would have tried to cancel a few days ahead, but a full 4 months! My mother was born and raised in Wurzburg and we have never received such rude treatment from a hotel or restaurant. Go visit beautiful Wurzburg, but do not stay in the Hotel Regina!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArlingtonTWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Pacifica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Located conveniently to train station but building isn't as nice as picture portrays it to be. Very small shower with low flow pressure. Sufficient room area but none to spare! Booked a triple and all beds were comfortable Youth Hostel and Chinese Restaurant flank hotel. Liquid soap only. Usual breakfast...cold cuts etc. Lousy pillows. As stated, no air conditioning but windows did open. Noisy during daytime but quite quiet at night. Felt hotel was over-priced. Would recommend due to train station convenience. Not convenient to restaurants. Wifi worked only in office area.

FYI - We measured lockers in a couple of train stations...24 X 18 X 36 inches. Some stations also had smaller lockers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma-June2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Overall, this hotel suited us great. The location right across from the train station was ideal when we arrived and was great for walking the city. The front desk staff was helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was good and free internet in the lobby. The room was small but clean and comfortable. There is an elevator, decent in-room shower/toliet and good sound dampening from the busy street. The only downside I would say is that the curtains did not provide much blocking of light from the street. A sleeping mask would have been helpful. Otherwise great!
Get a walking tour map from the front desk and explore the great old city of Wuerzburg. The hotel is right on the walking route and easy to orient yourself. The Residence is amazing but as with many attractions in Europe, check the hours before you go.
The breakfast is great. Good selection of breads, meats and cheeses. No need to buy other food for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxta31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The room we had was quite basic - even rather dorm-like. There is no AC. The bathroom was very nice and it was the best shower we had in Germany.

The front desk staff was very helpful and recommended restaurants that were both excellent. The included breakfast was good and had a typical German variety of cold options including some good jams and breads.

We had a room facing the back away from the roads and the train - it was fairly quiet unlike what other reviews mentioned.

There's a good WiFi signal available in the lobby area and the Internet speed was good there.

All in all, a decent choice but not if you are in to fancy hotel rooms or a lot of space.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I chose hotel Regina for its proximity to the train station, and it was definitely close just across the street. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful but other than that I was a little disappointed. The hotel does not have air conditioning so you have to keep your windows open for it to be cool to sleep. However, the hotel is right on a major road and the traffic noise is high. To make matters worse there was road construction at night, and they were literally using the jack hammer until 3am.

The room was decent size, breakfast was ok, but the noise and inability to sleep was a major problem. Yes it is nice being so close to the train station, but I would have preferred a good night sleep and pay for a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtle722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#18 of 46 in Wurzburg
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.2 mi away
Zur Stadt Mainz
Zur Stadt Mainz
#37 of 46 in Wurzburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#6 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Property: Regina Hotel
Address: Haugerring 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Regina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing