We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Spent one night on our journey along the Romantic Road. The hotel was in a good location although on a busy road which with the windows open was rather noisey. The room was very small and basic but clean and the staff friendly and the breakfast adequate. Car parking can be a problem although we were able to find a park as there were no restrictions on the weekend in Zeller Strasse. This property was a budget hotel so my expectations weren't high but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    137
    32
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
161
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on a road trip through Germany. Hotel is in a good location for access to the old central part of the city.

Room was clean and the bathroom was modern and updated. Unfortunately we didn't sleep particularly well because it was a hot day and we needed to keep the window/shutters closed due to noise from the small street that our room faced onto.

Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Friendly and accomodating staff! Great breakfasts offering some of the best croissants in the area!!! and a great value! Stay away from the rooms in the first floor facing the street! You will hear every conversation of street walkers all night! If you go in the summer, make sure you reserve a floor fan! Other than that, all was good - I will go and stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DePonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egathetos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed there on two different occassions in February 2012 for 4 nights each time (visiting family). On both occassions we had our 11 month old baby with us.
The rooms are very clean and quiet. The hotel is ran by a lady and her two daughters. The are all very friendly and they speak English.
The bathrooms were also very clean, modern, with nice new linen.
They provided us with a baby cot and linen for the baby, I believe at no extra cost.
The breakfast is really excellent with tea/coffee/juice a variety of cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fruits, yoghurts etc. The waiting staff are also very kind and helpful and nothing was too much of a trouble to help us with the baby.
They provide free WiFi and the movie channels are provided for free!

The location is very good also, I'd say around 10 minute walk to the centre of the town.

We would happily stay there again and I recommend it for both families as well as couples and/or business travel. Overall a very nice, friendly, clean hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egathetos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currently Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The location is not bad, but not in the center of town. About a 7 min walk to the center. The room we were given was extremely small and stuffy and quite expensive. We chose to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I'm assuming they have bigger, nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ving_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Bathroom was nicely appointed
Breakfast was generous, tasty and fresh.
Staff were all really friendly and helpful, with good English.
Wifi connection in the room with good strong signal.
Good security locks on the room doors.

We would happily stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Location is just across the river from the centre of town. When we arrived with luggage we opted to catch the tram (no.2, from memory) from the train station to a tram stop at the top of the street and walk approx 200m to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have only positive comments regarding the Hotel Gruener Baum. We stayed one night (wish we had planned to stay longer) but encountered three excellent employees in the course of our short stay in the reception/breakfast areas. All were compassionate and helpful in numerous ways. Neither my brother nor myself speak German (our phrase book was inadequate) and one staff member was so kind as to translate a telephone call to a relative in Germany who speaks minimal English. The location is fantastic; it is an easy five minute walk from the hotel across the lovely pedestrian bridge to the Old Town of Wurzburg. The staff provided us with some excellent restaurant suggestions; there also was a wine festival in Wurzburg while we visited which we attended thanks again to the information provided by the reception desk staff. The breakfast in the lovely 500 year old cellar was outstanding.. It contained a wide variety of breakfast items, both hot and cold, and the food presentation was superb. I drink coffee and my brother drinks cocoa but I was tempted also by the wide variety of teas available. The room was both clean and comfortable and we had a nice view of the Old Town from our third floor room. There is not a hotel elevator and we were actually given the option of a first floor room when we arrived (as we are in our 60's) but preferred the expansive city view and didn't mind the steps.. It is obvious the owner of the Hotel Gruener Baum cares deeply about the hotel, its staff, and customers. We traveled for six weeks throughout Europe and found this hotel indeed a hidden gem. I'd love to stay at the Hotel Gruener Baum again and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcrowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Rebstock
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing