We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Unfortunately was only there for one night. Yes the room was small, but so were most of the other places we stayed. The room was clean and modern. The staff was beyond wonderful and very helpful answering my many questions . One woman actually carried my suitcase up to the 2nd floor.
The breakfast was very yummy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaknefesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    142
    35
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
171
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early June during a driving tour of Bavaria with friends. We voted it the least comfortable hotel on our trip - tiny rooms overlooking a busy road, very small shower rooms and a long haul up the stairs with our bags.

It's more a simple guest house than a hotel so don't go with high expectations and be prepared for the rooms to be very hot in summer. One strange (and inconvenient) thing was that there appears to be no one on the premises after early evening - you're given a fob for the front door which is quite difficult to operate so make sure you're sober enough to get back in!

The plus points were the excellent breakfast (one of the best we had) and helpful staff. They managed to get our clothes washed even though there was no laundry service and recommended an excellent restaurant which we would never have found ourselves. It was so good we went back on our second night.

We'd certainly return to Wurzburg - it's a beautiful town and there's a lot to see - but next time will give the Gruener Baum a miss even if it means paying more somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofWoof133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you did like Wuerzburg and you would like to visit it again. We are very sorry that you would not choose our hotel for a second stay. But you are right we do not provide an elevator and the rooms do not have air condition. Also we are sorry that our staff did not explain our key system correctly. It is very easy to get in, just use the transponder key at the card reader in front of the main entrance and the door will open. Thank you very much that you did like our breakfast and also stated it as one of the best ones. Best regards M. Uhlmann and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding. The hotel was clean and tidy, and rooms were nicely furnished. Rooms are not very big, but large enough for a short stay. We notice a difference between the bathrooms, as we had a very new bathroom, with a great shower in it. (top floor). Some of our friends in the 2nd floor did not have this, and their bath room was rather dated.

Staff were friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The pictures on the website do not do the breakfast justice.

We used the hotels underground parking, and then when we checked out got hit with a bill. Didnt think that was very fair, as when we got shown to the garage when we arrived there was no mention of parking charges.

Its not the cheapest hotel in Wurzburg, and i would say offers reasonable value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belem, PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Unfortunately, I've spend just one night here with my wife and my 6 years old daughter. It's the best location in Würzburg, since is placed right in the middle of the beautiful Alte Maninbrucke (that gonna take to the magnificent "The Residenz") and the fantastic Marienburg Fortress (the views from there are breathtaking). Don't expect many comfort, but a very friendly staff and a great breakfast. It's not that easy handle with the luggage as you don't have a lift, but the staff and the location was so great that we'd go back. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICTORLIMAMORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We kicked off our recent 3 week stay in Germany and Austria by spending our first night at the Gruener Baum. The hotel and the town itself was a great introduction to Germany. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the main attractions in Wurzburg. The view from the hotel room was lovely; perhaps the best view that we had from any hotel room during our stay. Whilst the room was small, it was very clean, functional and warm, and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Yes, there was a climb up some stairs but that was something we experienced throughout Germany and was no big deal.

Breakfast was great. We did have similar breakfasts at other places but these were offered at hotels much larger than the Gruener Baum. For the size of the hotel, the breakfast that they put on was excellent.

The hotel is very well situated, comfortable and pleasant with friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apropos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Arrival: had to park opposite hotel to unload and then roll the suitcases across a busy street to hotel.
Location: easy walk to the city.
Check-in: very friendly. As room was not ready upon our very early arrival, we were offered breakfast, which was much appreciated. Lugging the suitcases up the stairs was a problem, but the owner who checked us in did her best to assist.
Room: sparkling clean, modern, good beds but rather small and stuffy. Bathroom small, very clean and functional. No air conditioning, which was really uncomfortable since it was an unusual 92F.
Breakfast: served in beautiful old cellar, great coffee, enough variety, however, when we had breakfast around 9am, juice, yoghurt, meats were not cold. I would suggest since there is no A/C that food be kept on ice.
Would I recommend this hotel? Probably not for older people, people traveling with heavy luggage, or those who are used to AC on hot summer days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We absolutely loved our one night stay at the Grüner Baum. The service was very friendly and helpful. The rooms a very good size, quiet and with excellent blinds to darken for sleeping. And the breakfast was great! There was an automatic coffee machine for Lattes and Cappuccinos and a rich selection of local meats, cheeses, baked goods and fresh fruit!

The location is perfect to walk to both the old town and castle.

A perfect place to stay for a short trip to Würzburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
960 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing