We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot value in Wurzburg”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hot value in Wurzburg”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It was a rainy and mostly cool summer day. This hotel is in a really cool looking historic property right across the bridge, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We found overnight parking on the street. However, while the rooms were clean and well organized, it was hot. Even with the window open all night it never seemed to cool the room. I understand most Europe hotels don't have AC but I think the presence of an inexpensive floor fan would have helped air circulation. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was a good value in a great location, but I would not stay there in the summer again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    142
    34
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
171
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night during bike trip. Hotel location perfect for exploring Würzburg. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was located directly to the road, sleeping with open window it was too loud. A fan would have been available. The room was also rather small with Queensize bed in a corner, ok but not ideal. The breakfast was extensive and very good. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The weather was hotter than is normal, even at this time of year, so having no air conditioning was a slight, but only slight, distraction. With the windows opened, there can be a fair amount of noise as people and cars pass by, but this wasn't problematic during actual sleeping hours. I think both of these issues would disappear in reasonable weather. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is excellent, and the staff is incredible, very kind and good communication in English, which was a plus because our German is weak. We ate supper at recommended restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, stay up as high as you can. The view toward the river is quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I start with the positive things: this is a small, family-run hotel close to the south bank of the Main, conveniently close to the centre of Würzburg. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the property is well maintained. The breakfast is good.

Now the problematic aspects: a minor issue was that we had to wait 15 minutes at check-in, because there was an elderly couple in front of us who took forever to fill out the guest form. Well, this can happen in a small hotel, where there is only one person in the reception.
The main problem was that we stayed there on a sweltering hot night and we got a room on the ground floor. Just outside was a busy road. As there is no air conditioning, we simply had to open the window. But then it felt like the cars go right through the room. Besides, as it is on the ground floor, one cannot pull up the blinds, unless one wants to let passers-by see everything going on in the room. At night, several groups of somewhat inebriated people passed directly by the window and talked loudly.
The staff was very nice about this, did not charge the drinks from the minibar, and gave us an extra discount, but the fact remains that we had a rotten night.
I am sure this hotel is very nice if you come not on a hot day or if you manage to get a room on the backside, but in summer it cannot really be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 6-8, as they are on the ground floor with people and cars passing by directly in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Unfortunately was only there for one night. Yes the room was small, but so were most of the other places we stayed. The room was clean and modern. The staff was beyond wonderful and very helpful answering my many questions . One woman actually carried my suitcase up to the 2nd floor.
The breakfast was very yummy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaknefesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early June during a driving tour of Bavaria with friends. We voted it the least comfortable hotel on our trip - tiny rooms overlooking a busy road, very small shower rooms and a long haul up the stairs with our bags.

It's more a simple guest house than a hotel so don't go with high expectations and be prepared for the rooms to be very hot in summer. One strange (and inconvenient) thing was that there appears to be no one on the premises after early evening - you're given a fob for the front door which is quite difficult to operate so make sure you're sober enough to get back in!

The plus points were the excellent breakfast (one of the best we had) and helpful staff. They managed to get our clothes washed even though there was no laundry service and recommended an excellent restaurant which we would never have found ourselves. It was so good we went back on our second night.

We'd certainly return to Wurzburg - it's a beautiful town and there's a lot to see - but next time will give the Gruener Baum a miss even if it means paying more somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofWoof133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you did like Wuerzburg and you would like to visit it again. We are very sorry that you would not choose our hotel for a second stay. But you are right we do not provide an elevator and the rooms do not have air condition. Also we are sorry that our staff did not explain our key system correctly. It is very easy to get in, just use the transponder key at the card reader in front of the main entrance and the door will open. Thank you very much that you did like our breakfast and also stated it as one of the best ones. Best regards M. Uhlmann and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding. The hotel was clean and tidy, and rooms were nicely furnished. Rooms are not very big, but large enough for a short stay. We notice a difference between the bathrooms, as we had a very new bathroom, with a great shower in it. (top floor). Some of our friends in the 2nd floor did not have this, and their bath room was rather dated.

Staff were friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The pictures on the website do not do the breakfast justice.

We used the hotels underground parking, and then when we checked out got hit with a bill. Didnt think that was very fair, as when we got shown to the garage when we arrived there was no mention of parking charges.

Its not the cheapest hotel in Wurzburg, and i would say offers reasonable value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 45 in Wurzburg
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing