We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel in a perfect town”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in a lovely room overlooking the Markt. The room is large and comfortable, nicely decorated, basically all you can hope for in a small hotel. The breakfast is the best we have had in Europe, all the usual, but just a bit better. We had pasta for dinner the first night, pesto rosso with shrimp. Wonderful. Tonight I had the local fish, char, with a vanilla tagliatelle. Yow. And the lakefront setting is the best. Everything is nearby. Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - only 5 minutes walk to the Alte Mainbrucke bridge. The service was good - parking is an issue and they told us in advance to pull in across the road and check in then they took us to their secure parking garage. The receptionist was also very helpful with suggestions for what to see and where to eat [we were only there one night]. From outside the hotel is unimpressive but it seems an old building and the rooms are strange shapes and quite quirky but we enjoyed that. Breakfast in their cellar was a buffet and perfectly fine with a reasonable choice. Watch out for the parking garage - it is accessed easily enough with the room key but they have a moveable platform for additional parking and if you have to move it [they explain how]. My problem was that in the time it took to move the platform the gate closed then I could not find out how to open it from inside [I had to get my friend to come down and open it from outside].

Room Tip: It was hot when we were there so we kept the window open which does produce some noise from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It was a rainy and mostly cool summer day. This hotel is in a really cool looking historic property right across the bridge, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We found overnight parking on the street. However, while the rooms were clean and well organized, it was hot. Even with the window open all night it never seemed to cool the room. I understand most Europe hotels don't have AC but I think the presence of an inexpensive floor fan would have helped air circulation. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was a good value in a great location, but I would not stay there in the summer again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night during bike trip. Hotel location perfect for exploring Würzburg. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was located directly to the road, sleeping with open window it was too loud. A fan would have been available. The room was also rather small with Queensize bed in a corner, ok but not ideal. The breakfast was extensive and very good. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The weather was hotter than is normal, even at this time of year, so having no air conditioning was a slight, but only slight, distraction. With the windows opened, there can be a fair amount of noise as people and cars pass by, but this wasn't problematic during actual sleeping hours. I think both of these issues would disappear in reasonable weather. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is excellent, and the staff is incredible, very kind and good communication in English, which was a plus because our German is weak. We ate supper at recommended restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, stay up as high as you can. The view toward the river is quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I start with the positive things: this is a small, family-run hotel close to the south bank of the Main, conveniently close to the centre of Würzburg. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the property is well maintained. The breakfast is good.

Now the problematic aspects: a minor issue was that we had to wait 15 minutes at check-in, because there was an elderly couple in front of us who took forever to fill out the guest form. Well, this can happen in a small hotel, where there is only one person in the reception.
The main problem was that we stayed there on a sweltering hot night and we got a room on the ground floor. Just outside was a busy road. As there is no air conditioning, we simply had to open the window. But then it felt like the cars go right through the room. Besides, as it is on the ground floor, one cannot pull up the blinds, unless one wants to let passers-by see everything going on in the room. At night, several groups of somewhat inebriated people passed directly by the window and talked loudly.
The staff was very nice about this, did not charge the drinks from the minibar, and gave us an extra discount, but the fact remains that we had a rotten night.
I am sure this hotel is very nice if you come not on a hot day or if you manage to get a room on the backside, but in summer it cannot really be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 6-8, as they are on the ground floor with people and cars passing by directly in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Unfortunately was only there for one night. Yes the room was small, but so were most of the other places we stayed. The room was clean and modern. The staff was beyond wonderful and very helpful answering my many questions . One woman actually carried my suitcase up to the 2nd floor.
The breakfast was very yummy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaknefesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
988 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.9 mi away
Schlosshotel Steinburg
Schlosshotel Steinburg
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: £106 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing