We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Room, Excellent Staff ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, Excellent Staff ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop of six small towns on our way to Munich. We just spent 4 nights in Berlin. We asked for the largest room they had and we certainly were provided that. It was very spacious room with a standing fan. I was worried about noise and the heat based on the reviews but we heard very little and I'm a light sleeper! The fan was needed. It was warm but not uncomfortable. The bed was also fantastic.

The other reviews I certainly echo. Wonderful staff with great restaurant recommendations ( I wish I could remember) and so close to the popular destinations. The parking sucks but at least you have the opportunity to park in the hotel garage. Also, the staff were not too keen on a late check out( we're talking one hour) which annoyed me. Overall, this is a stellar hotel and I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    137
    32
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
161
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This little hotel has 105 reviews, with no Poors or Terribles even though it does not have air conditioning, no lift, and can be noisy right there on the street. Think I am going to disagree? Not at all. I think the catch for this place is 1) excellent staff 2) excellent breakfast and 3) excellent location.

Staff: We met 4 or 5 different ladies while staying here and all of them were delightful. Frau Schnieder was right there every AM greeting you with good coffee and an expansive breakfast, included in the price. Otw, the desk ladies were very friendly and helpful, assisting with luggage, looking up train schedules, etc. Especially watch for that Janet with her crystal clear ice blue eyes that you feel like you can just dive into.

Location: as has been described, this place is away from the town center but just a very short walking distance from the town bridge where at night everyone gathers for a glass of local wine and to watch the moon rise. Also, one could walk a few steps from the train and take the tram to the stop near the bridge and walk about 100 to 150 yards to the hotel, and vice versa, to go back.

The room: Our room was on the second floor on the street. It was a nice room with a huge flat panel TV and a sofa and desk. The wood for the door trim was an interesting one with a rough grain that was imported. The bed was made of the same wood. Now the room was noisy looking right out over the street and there were church bells that drove me crazy, but in spite of that I would stay here again. Being August, we had to sleep with our window open and they did provide a columnar type floor fan for our comfort. (Speaking of comfort, why do they give you a comforter to sleep under in this weather. We would take the comforter out of the duvet and use the duvet as a light cover). The bath was small but very modern and new looking with top quality fixtures.One could tell that a lot of thought had gone into design and furnishing this room. (Except for the sconces above the bed. Puh-leeze!)

I will give this a 4 "circle" rating based primarily on factors such as staff service, food, location and the fact that obviously the owners and people that work there give a damn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is well located a short walk from the bridge to the old town. There is a nearby garage for cars and bikes. The included breakfast is excellent. Staff is very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Have a glass of wine on the bridge beside the mill restaurant in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Was well worth staying here on the back of others recommendations. Nice little room on a side street but the ones at the front of the hotel a bit noisy with traffic although certainly quietened down at night. All staff went out of their way to be helpful and spoke passable English which helped our shaky German. Excellent breakfasts and very close to old city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505LynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in a lovely room overlooking the Markt. The room is large and comfortable, nicely decorated, basically all you can hope for in a small hotel. The breakfast is the best we have had in Europe, all the usual, but just a bit better. We had pasta for dinner the first night, pesto rosso with shrimp. Wonderful. Tonight I had the local fish, char, with a vanilla tagliatelle. Yow. And the lakefront setting is the best. Everything is nearby. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - only 5 minutes walk to the Alte Mainbrucke bridge. The service was good - parking is an issue and they told us in advance to pull in across the road and check in then they took us to their secure parking garage. The receptionist was also very helpful with suggestions for what to see and where to eat [we were only there one night]. From outside the hotel is unimpressive but it seems an old building and the rooms are strange shapes and quite quirky but we enjoyed that. Breakfast in their cellar was a buffet and perfectly fine with a reasonable choice. Watch out for the parking garage - it is accessed easily enough with the room key but they have a moveable platform for additional parking and if you have to move it [they explain how]. My problem was that in the time it took to move the platform the gate closed then I could not find out how to open it from inside [I had to get my friend to come down and open it from outside].

Room Tip: It was hot when we were there so we kept the window open which does produce some noise from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

It was a rainy and mostly cool summer day. This hotel is in a really cool looking historic property right across the bridge, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We found overnight parking on the street. However, while the rooms were clean and well organized, it was hot. Even with the window open all night it never seemed to cool the room. I understand most Europe hotels don't have AC but I think the presence of an inexpensive floor fan would have helped air circulation. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was a good value in a great location, but I would not stay there in the summer again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Rebstock
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing