We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our Wurtzburg Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“our Wurtzburg Hotel.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

booked this hotel on the understanding that they had a car park, but it was 200/300 yards away, but no real problem. the room was quirky but perfectly adequate. all spick and span, and breakfast was right down in the Cellar and nice.. its quite central for the amazing bridge and old town. my wife did comment that it was a bit pricey........but so what, I was on holiday........no restaurant at the hotel.......have a wander down the hill, and to the right a couple of nice restaurants...200 yards away maybe 300).....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a nice stay in Würzburg and our staff did give you advice to park your car at our short parking area across the street next to our hotel. At this way check-in and out is much more comfortable. Again thank you for your visit! Best regards M. Uhlmann (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    140
    33
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
167
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Pros:
Clean, big rooms
Comfortable beds and pillows
Nice cable TV
Strong Wi-Fi
Great Location
Delicious breakfast included
Very friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
None.....other than the fact that it is pricey. But comparatively, it's good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. Although you did not mention any cons (other the fact that it is pricey) we will keep on to be better and better. And we will reinvest the money to keep our house nice and more comfortable. In fact there will be an elevator available in the near future and some other new things... We hope you did enjoy our time in Würzburg and thank you again for your visit.
Best regards M.Uhlmann (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Having read all the reviews we were quite certain we would have a good stay - and we were not disapointed. Rooms are fairly small and basic - but has all the comfort you can ask for. Minibar; TV; comfortable beds and a recently renovated bath room. Don't expect American hotel chain standard - this is a personable run small hotel by people who love what they do. And it shows in how they greet you, how the care for you and how clean and nice the place is.

Besides, being on the other side of the river forces you to cross the old bridge twice; something you will love, especially if you like to have a glass of wine outdoors with 300 people you never met before, watching the sun go down behind the Marienberg castle. Magical!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cialainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great review! It is very nice to read your lines and to know that our work is appreciated. This will encourage us to keep on and to do better and better in the future. Thank you again for your visit. Best wishes M.Uhlmann (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a great stay at Wurzburg Gruener Baum. The staff are friendly, very accommodating and they make you feel at home rather than in a hotel. Location is convenient to all the city sites by foot. I had a room on the 2nd floor, facing the busy road, however it was silent with the double glazed windows closed. You even get electric shutters to put down at night. Room is well appointed, nice modern bathroom with big shower. Breakfast was ample and good quality, with a lot more choice than you get in similar german establishments. Parking near the hotel is hard on busy days so when checking in, just quickly park across the street in front of the school to drop your bags etc. I used the private car park provided by the hotel which is nearby, but when first arriving it is inconvenient to park close to the hotel without getting a ticket.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcu2, Inhaber at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We hope you had a nice stay in Würzburg and maybe we will see us again in the future. We keep on to be better and better. In the end of this year we will also have a new and very comfortable elevator! Best regards M.Uhlmann (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Booked by email and asked for a quiet room. Email was promptly answered and the room was indeed quiet (#21) . I have stayed at 6 other hotels in Wurzburg over the last 30 years and usually prefer the Wurzburger Hof or the Rebstock. However, from now on, my choice will be the Gruener Baum. For the price, location etc, it is a solid choice. It also helps that it is one of the very few hotels in Wurzburg that features a German style breakfast at no extra charge. The staff are very attentive and friendly. This is a very well run property.

Room Tip: Just email them and ask. They seem to do their best to accommodate requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights through booking.com. This is a very nice, walk-up boutique hotel, well located in the charming town of Wurzburg, Germany. The staff was outstanding, providing excellent dining advice in the town. Breakfast, included with the room, was served with great cheer, in an attractive dining facility within the lower reaches of the building, a former restaurant. Everyone speaks English quite competently. Rooms are compact, as they often are in Europe, but very clean and well designed for optimum use of limited space.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstratton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Hotel is in a good location very close to the centre. It is on a hill and a bend in the road just be aware, park across the street unload your bags and people then park. I didn't use the parking because I was in a high vehicle, there is plenty of public and street parking. I parked on the street further down the hill in a pay and display. I got there early evening didn't pay and was unmolested by traffic wardens until I left the next day late morning. The room was small, (I got the last room the hotel was full) on the front and the nearest to the reception. The room looked and felt newly renovated the bathroom fantastic.

The staff were great and explained in great detail everything including how the locks work (proximity cards). The breakfast was everything you could want and again the breakfast lady was wonderful.

I was told that I must have a town plan when checking in and given recommendations to two restaurants, just over the main attraction the bridge which is not even 5 minutes walk away. The recommendation was excellent and I ate at the Old Mill just on the other side of the bridge, literally as it is a water mill. One of the best Bavarian meals I've had.

Overall a good experience and good value. Don't be put off by the location it's an asset and I guess keeps the cost down. Do not be put off by the rather formal and stern lady on reception. Very efficient, polite and helpful. Even going down into the dungeon for breakfast the next morning was quaint and a delight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing