We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, noise a bit of an issue”
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel, noise a bit of an issue”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We turned up at this hotel without a booking and stayed for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but good - very big and plenty of space. We had a corner bath which was great for bathing out toddler. There is very limited parking nearby, but we were lucky to bag one of the two 'pay and display' spaces immediately opposite the hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Noise was an issue - people congregate below the windows until the early hours. But it did not detract greatly from an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
37
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is a clean, friendly value option. Location is terrific, breakfast had many options, room was small but functional, front desk was efficient and helpful. Beds were a little soft for our taste (compared to the normally firm german beds which we like) but otherwise great, adequate lighting, temperatures great. Shower was a detraction - small but made worse by wet fabric curtain. Don't bend over unless you like clammy, wet.

Unfortunately, a few other problems not under hotel control, probably. First, smokers and bar patrons hang out virtually all night outside the hotel. You'd never guess it looking at it during the day or from pictures. Think NY is the city that never sleeps? Check out Wurzburg. I clocked revelers at about 4:00 am ON A WEEKNIGHT. This is in February with the windows closed, very loud and awakened numerous times despite considerable jet lag. Won't do this again.

Secondly, non smoking room still had considerable smoke infiltration. Not sure if this is because folks were smoking on non-smoking floor or because other floors were smoking. Made worse because it was at night, waking us up (when we weren't already up due to noise) by smoke.

Sad, because otherwise, this hotel would be an budget option.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Wurzburg is beautiful not to be missed.......always plenty to do and see.
The hotel was comfortable and staff were freindly...breakfast was help yourself , fresh and filling.
On the last evening I was ill in bed and staff knowing this, brought hot lemon tea and extra duvets to our room.
I would go back as it felt homely during our 8 day stay.
Centrally located in the town it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Recently stayed here for a conference as the hotel is very close to the congress centre. I had a single room which was very roomy and clean. The bathroom was small but adequate and the staff were very friendly. The sights of Wurzburg are an easy walk, as is the train station. Plenty of places to eat in the street as well.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank January6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

The hotel is quite close to the Alter Kranen, also the Rathaus and the rest of the towncenter is conveniently reachable by foot.
The rooms aren't very big, but quite clean, the bathroom has only the bathtub which isn't very confortable if you just have to take a shower.
The breakfast is quite nice, nothing special but has anything you might want to eat in the morning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#18 of 46 in Wurzburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Congress-Centrum
Hotel am Congress-Centrum
#22 of 46 in Wurzburg
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#6 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Property: Hotel Residence
Address: Juliuspromenade 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing