We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small quite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed 9 January 2013

"+":
-free wifi
-big room (for 3 stars)
-close to city center

Public parking (theater parking) is close to hotel (for additional payment). Free Wifi is available, but not stable, breakfast is average.
Public parking (theater parking) is close to hotel (for additional payment). Free Wifi is available, but not stable, breakfast is average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

While the hotel was inexpensive and in a good location, the negatives totally outweighed any money saved.

The hotel staff was unhelpful and unpleasant. When we arrived on a Sunday, I asked (in fluent German) if there was a pharmacy or Muller/Schlecker/DM anywhere nearby that might be open on a Sunday. (German shops--at least in Bavaria--are closed Sundays, but most major cities have someplace open on Sundays or "emergencies," for example the Muller store in the Nuremberg Hauptbahnhof.) The man checking us in said: "I don't know, I am not from here. Perhaps you will find someplace open on the main shopping street." Not helpful.

The hotel was uncomfortable. I don't only mean physical comfort (pillows 1/2" thick, thin duvets on the bed) but also in terms of "feng shui" for lack of a better word. The layout of the room was awkward (including a clear glass door to the loo, talk about uncomfortable for double occupancy!), and there were no decorations on the walls to make the room feel more homely or offset the brothelly feeling given off by the red heart-patterned shag carpet. There were pictures on the wall in the stairwell, but the prints were hanging crookedly inside their frames, which made the hotel look even more tawdry.

The hotel was unclean. Now, I am not the fussiest traveler, and I can deal with outdated furnishings and grumpy staff as long as things are clean. But from the grimey stair bannister to the gunge in the tracks of the sliding shower door, from the dirty carpet in the staircase to the crud encrusting the tv remote, the entire hotel was desperately in need of a good scrubbing. But what really takes the cake is that I found a dab of blood on the doorway to the bathroom. As there was no rubbish bin in the bathroom, the explanation for this need not be anything more sinister than a previous guest transferring a sanitary item to the bin in the bedroom. But it was yet further evidence of the [--] management of this hotel, which made for a consummately unpleasant stay.

Please, dear reader: spend a little extra cash and find someplace else to stay in Wurzburg!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divachen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

1.the owner is not honest at all. He TRAPPED us to charge more money WITHOUT any REMINDING!!
i booked a double room with showers and shared WC.
When we arrived, he "checked the booking data " and then led us to a room with showers and WC. i tried to confirm the room type. he said "that's ok." On the day for check out, we were asked to pay more money than we had booked! We spent 35 days in Europe this summer, and to stay in the hotel is the worst experience!

2.the smell of room is no good.
3.the basin was jamed by hairs.
4.the breads of breakfast tasted bad.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank voodoobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

This is a sweet hotel, however I would NOT recommend staying here if you do not speak German or if you would require any kind of tourist assistance. We had significant problems wih confusions arising because of lack of availability of English-speaking staff. Also staff were unable to answer even basic tourist questions, even in German. Otherwise the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hugheswashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Francine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank 헌종1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Fischzucht
Hotel Fischzucht
#11 of 46 in Wurzburg
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.4 mi away
Hotel Franziskaner
Hotel Franziskaner
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#19 of 46 in Wurzburg
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wurzburg
48 reviews
0 mi away
City Hotel Schoenleber
City Hotel Schoenleber
#35 of 46 in Wurzburg
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Theaterstr. 7, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing