We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant hotel”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, can walk everywhere but quiet...around the market area and the bridge it would be very noisy at night.
Short walk to station.
I had a single room, clean and comfortable with brand new bathroom.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Lavish breakfast, just about anything you could want to eat.
This hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was surprised, given the other reviews, by the low quality of this hotel. It was not cheap (compared to other hotels stayed in nearby) and the room was small and very dated. The bathroom was also very small (so small in fact the the shower was not in the bathroom but part of the main room). The breakfast was pretty poor, I have had much better in Germany. Parking is convenient, particularly given the central location.
All in all, the location of this hotel is its greatest asset and this makes the other things slightly more bearable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The room was clean and perfectly adequate with a good shower and comfortable bed. All the staff were both helpful and friendly. The garage has lift access directly off the road; the lift is operated by staff (requires a key) was excellent for motor bike. I had a really enjoyable stay and it was one of the cheapest available in the area so has to be good value for money. Breakfast was fine. I do wonder what other (recent) reviewers expect. No, there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but, dear god, don't these little Englanders understand that is a very British thing? The only problem I have with this hotel is that it's fully booked for my return journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBuygum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Having read of the central location, rich breakfast buffet and high-speed internet of the Hotel Central Garni, my friend and I had high expectations as we arrived in Würzburg. We were immediately disappointed.

The internet, had it been any speed, would have sufficed. There was no internet.

Breakfast was (from what we can recall – had a serious late one), neither ‘full’ (as claimed on the website) nor pleasant. The ‘buffet’ was base (to us). We revelled in all the false glory of this smorgasbord of disappointment as we removed the Perspex sheaths covering the various platters. However, what the buffet lacked in both quality and quantity, it made up for in character. After our experience of mouldy yogurt (complete with hair - brunette), dry bread, granulated coffee of worrying viscosity and plastic cheese, we retreated, hungry, to respective beds to fight off the rest of a particularly nasty hangover.

We awoke with a bang (in agony – spine contorted from the base ‘mattress’ and oversized comedy pillow) as our skulls cracked against the low, sloped ceilings – an unwelcome addition to an already dismal head situation (scotch). Surely being able to stand in one’s own room without fear for one’s head is not too much to ask?

Tea and coffee provisions were notable by their absence. (NB. ‘water boilers’ can be hired, apparently, for a charge from reception, a service we may have used, had the phone in our room actually worked.) Furthermore, surely is it plain for all to see that two gentlemen, staying in moderately-priced hotel in central Europe for a weekend would require more than one role of toilet paper? Hotel Central Garni once again failed to act, leaving us stranded without this, the most basic of needs.

Despite a reasonably enjoyable day in beautiful Würzburg, a city (town?) which we hold dear, the knowledge that – in the absence of finding two friendly ladies - we would be returning to the Hotel Central Garni at the end of the night/early the next morning) cast a long and dark shadow. The deepest we fell into the trough of mediocrity was, upon departure, being falsely accused of stealing the (internal!) window to the bathroom.

We are pretty easy going chaps we think. Not particularly difficult to please (prima facie). To be fair, the shower – when warm (7.30-8.00 am?) was pretty acceptable, as was the spotless lift. But a man has his limits and the Hotel Central Garni pushed us to the very brink. Do not stay in this base ‘hotel’.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
366 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

For the negatives- this hotel room was very, very small. Likewise the bathroom was tiny. We had a triple room for 3 adults. There was nowhere to leave 3 pieces of lugguge without them being in the way. Breakfast supplies very basic. The positives- the hotel is very close to town and easy walk to main sights. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were hard but suprisingly comfortable. Room very clean. Because of the room size, I would have found it too difficult to stay here for more than just the one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Good clean hotel within easy walking distance of the sights. We were touring on a motorbike and booked this hotel as we needed secure parking. The garage is underground and accessed by a vehicle sized lift! Staff all welcoming, friendly and helpful. Good selection at breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Good location in Wurzburg, walking distance to all attractions including Marianburg Castle. Hotel was neat and clean and staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby and on the Mainz River. There is a good walking trail around the historic parts of the town. The old bridge with statues and surrounding buildings with the castle on the hill across the river much like a mini Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Schoenleber
City Hotel Schoenleber
#27 of 45 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#29 of 45 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#19 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Franziskaner
Hotel Franziskaner
#16 of 45 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: Koellikerstr. 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel right at home in our privately managed hotel and because of its location right in the heart of the city, it is ideal for business travellers as well as tourists. For our guests we have a garage with 5 parking lots available (fee-based), right on location, so you can reach your floor via lift or the front desk. The reception desk is open daily from 6 a.m. until 10 p.m. We are looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing