We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Alter Kranen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alter Kranen
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel which is perfectly situated beside the Main river and in walking distance to virtually all the major tourist sites in Wurzburg.

On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly and co-operative receptionist, who showed us to our private lock-up garage (forms part of the hotel) which we had pre-booked for a cost of 8 euros per night. As we had a small vehicle, there were no problems, however, it should be noted, if one had a large vehicle then parking would be very tight and possibly not suitable. Conversely, the hotel can arrange parking in a nearby parking station.

We requested a double room with a river view and had a lovely outlook towards Alte Mainbrucke (the old bridge) and Fortess Marienberg. The hotel itself is modern with our double room being a reasonable size, spotlessly clean, quiet and extremely comfortable (bed was excellent). The room had a flat screen TV, mini bar and the free Wi-Fi worked very well. The bathroom was compact but very adequate, with the shower pressure being terrific.

The buffet breakfast was more than adequate comprising cereals, fruit, yoghurt and various types of cheeses and cold meats.

In relation to restaurants, the receptionist was more than helpful in providing a number of options (all of which were in close walking distance). Based upon our experience, we would thoroughly recommend the restaurant called Alte Mainmuhle, which is currently ranked number 4 on TripAdvisor and located approximately 100 metres from the hotel beside the river.

Wurzburg is a lovely town to explore and Hotel Alter Kranen added to our stay with its overall quality and hospitality, value for money and location being just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view for views of Fortress Marienberg
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    75
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
78
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Not to expect too much, however good quality of sleep, clean rooms and bathroom, plenty variety at breakfast buffet.
Parking is organised in nearby garages which is sufficient. Location is great. City itself is small nd managable in one day. Enjoy drinking a glass of vine on main bridge in the evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip through Bavaria. It was in a very good location to explore the city of Wurzburg. We were able to walk to all the destinations we wanted to see. If your room is on the river side of the hotel (we were not) you will also have an excellent view. The bathroom was spotless and the rest of the room was very well kept also. We had good wireless internet and the breakfast provided was nice as well. It included breads, jams, juice, coffee or tea, cereal, some fruit, yoghurt, several types of cheese and meat. More than enough to start the day. We found the rates to be very fair for the room and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the hotel will be quieter in the evening as well as have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happymcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Delightful room with view of river and at a very good price. Central, clean and comfortable with good breakfast. Shower had a novel touch – LED lights in shower head which changed colour when in pulse mode!

Room Tip: ask for room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here for a Sunday night before moving forward to other destinations.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Wurzburg Hauptbahnhof, it takes around 10-15 minutes walking with luggage. The reception lady is nice and helpful by noting us the maintenance happening in the hotel, which didn't bother our us at all. She has also recommended us a restaurant for dinner and reminded us to go to the Fortress Marienberg that day as the museums up in the hills close on Mondays.

The double room we got is spacious and clean, with refurbished bathroom and a flatscreen TV. The room has an excellent view to the Old Bridge, the river and Fortress Marienberg. Though we hear cars passing downstairs but it is fine to us. Shower is strong and the squeezing shower gel attached on the wall is a convenient and nice little touch in the bathroom. There is free Wifi in this hotel, the signal is satisfactory but we do need to find "the best reception spot". The continental breakfast is also very nice.

The hotel is located by the riverside so if you have enough time, you can stroll along the river and to the Old Bridge and walk slowly to the Fortress Marienberg. It takes around 40 minutes walking slowly from the hotel to the hilltop. The hotel is also a few minutes away from the Marktplatz and in walkable distance to the Residenz.

The hotel is in high quality in general and worth recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to Frankfurt to fly home. We lived in Schweinfurt in the 70's and things have really changed. This hotel is centrally located but the parking we were provided we could not use due to our car being too large. This car was a Renault!. We had to park across the street in a parking garage. My husband did not like this. The staff were friendly however the English was very limited.
This first room they gave us was on the second floor. No air conditioning! I had reserved a room with air!
I called and she said only 3rd floor rooms had air. It was 85 degrees F out and I can not sleep in a hot room. She did finally give us a room on the 3rd floor. This hotel is clean, but bare necessities. It was well located to be able to walk everywhere. The breakfast was typical European buffet fare. Nothing fancy. We were there on a Tuesday. Tourist be ware, the wineries and castle are not open on certain days and were not open when we were there. If ever returning I probably not stay here. It is nothing more than a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you want A/C specify and ensure you are on the 3rd floor. There is an elavator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in May 2012. Hotel is within walking distance to most attractions except Fortress Marienberg. Hotel is within walking distance to train station, recommended to take a taxi (approx 7 euros) if carrying luggages. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alter Kranen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alter Kranen

Property: Hotel Alter Kranen
Address: Kaerrnergasse 11, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alter Kranen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing