We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Alter Kranen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alter Kranen
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at alter kranen for 2 nights and had only one minor gripe - no shampoo. Apart from that it was very good value for money - room was clean and large enough, breakfast was good (and varied), staff friendly, and the hotel itself was right on the river with a great view of the fortress and only 3 minutes walk from the main square. Parking was at a garage across the road and quite cheap. All in all we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forensic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    75
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
78
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel, and we were very satisfied with our choice. First of all, our room was spacious (by European standards), and we had two large windows, which allowed a lot of light and fresh air. The bathroom was modern and spotless. The breakfasts, included with the room, were more than adequate, but not elaborate.

Our room had a wonderful view of the river and the castle high on the hill, but there was also a busy street below, which caused us some concern about noise. Perhaps there is not much traffic there during the night, because noise was never a problem.

The location of the Alter Kranen is ideal. We parked in a public garage less than half a block away, and we could walk anywhere in town. One of the nicest walks is just across the street and along the river. The main street, the old bridge, and many restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Be sure to book a room facing the river on a high floor and you will have a great view of the castle across the river. I was worried when booking the hotel as it was so inexpensive but my worries were for naught. The rooms real simple yet had everything you wanted with new towels and sheets and beds. the breakfast was very complete including fruit cereals meats eggs and cheeses as well as an expresso machine. The staff was always available to answer my many questions.

Room Tip: A room facing the river on an high as floor as available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited Wurzburg at the end of a drive up the Romantic Road. I chose the Alter Kranen based on TA advice and the hotel website.

For a hotel that looks old, but is actually quite new the AK is rated excellent when considering the price, location and amenity. This was one of the cheapest places we stayed in Germany, but we really couldn't fault the attention to detail and care they put into this hotel. Best features were:
- Car park. I booked one of the few spots owned by the hotel with the full understanding that they are not big. I reverse parked a mercedes 220 into my garage spot with minimal difficulty, but if you don't like reverse parking, use the public car park which is also very very close.
- Towels. BIG, beautiful towels.
- Bed. Either new or near new, as were the pillows
- Room. really well appointed with nice little touches, like the welcome cookies, fan, decent lights.
- Location. Steps away from the town square, right on the river.
- Breakfast. Good (included) German style breakfast.
- Internet. While not a hugely strong signal, the speed was excellent.

As a start or finish to the Romantic Road, you could do a lot worse than the AK, not sure you can do better for this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Wurzburg Old Town is walking distance from "The Alter Kranen" . Good restaurants are within easy walking distance. Parking building is available close to hotel.The hotel is very clean and comfortable, reasonably priced (under 100euro) and a very good breakfast is included. The hotel reception has an iPad you can borrow for an hour free of charge to check your e-mail.
When in Wurzburg, we always stay at the Alter Kranen.

Room Tip: From the rooms overlooking the River Main, you can also see the Castle and the Bridge. Very scenic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here overnight on the last leg of a long trip. The hotel is very nicely decorated and very inviting. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room had everything required for a good night's sleep. The breakfast room was very nice and the breakfast more than sufficient with all kinds of meat, cheese, bread, fruit, etc. It was a good value for the dollars spent - 99 Euros, including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ransclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a room facing the river, very beautiful view. A bit noisy though because there is also a busy road and walking path along the river that gets a lot of traffic. However, they do have quieter rooms away from the river upon request. Spacious, clean and well appointed, convenient location, close to everything we wanted to see. A quick walk to the Residenz. Good breakfast included. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alter Kranen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alter Kranen

Property: Hotel Alter Kranen
Address: Kaerrnergasse 11, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alter Kranen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing