We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Rociada, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned fun”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is well located for the bus or train traveler as it is just a few blocks from the bahnhof. The ambience is definitely vintage & in a slightly funky way, The desk staff is very friendly. There is a small elevator so if you're on a higher floor there's no endless stairs to climb. The decor of our room was somewhat unusual, with lots of red plush & a lamp right out of old '30s movies, but in the end I was intrigued by the sense of humor & the somewhat ironic tone.
Breakfast was great, beautifully laid out & generous & in a sunny room that could be 1920s Europe.
Our only caveat is that despite a confirmation of room for two, when we got to our room only one bed was made up. This was corrected, but no additional towel was brought. We simply shared a towel & didn't worry about it, but I would say that perhaps some of the staff are not paying careful attention to details.

Room Tip: This is on a main street & we did have street noise until fairly late so perhaps a room toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolshodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    111
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
41
139
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This was a same day hotel booking as all other hotels for the Saturday night were booked out. The young receptionist on check in was very helpful. The Sunday morning we decided to extend the stay by another night and we encountered the rudest and most discourteous receptionist we have ever come across. One could be forgiven for thinking that she didn't like tourists. Later that day she berated our 22 year old daughter for using the free downstairs internet without first asking for permission!!
Otherwise the hotel itself is clean and comfortable, although wireless in the room is expensive. Someone also came into the room while we were out in the evening to close the curtains -an unnecessary intrusion in my opinion. The owners were not sure what style to decorate the rooms in, so they chose a bit of everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drwhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I visited the Wurzburger hof hotel last month for 2 nights, with intentions of staying longer.
The room was comfortable and clean.
However the receptionist was not only very unhelpful but rude too.
I ventured with my friend just a little down the road to the hotel Strauss where the friendliness was wonderful, I continued my stay there for rest of my week in wurzburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good hotel, but pity the Wifi is overpriced (10 EUR a day!), when you would expect it for free in a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Würzburger Hof for four nights while on a business trip. It is a nice old hotel that has been maintained very well - my room was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel from what I could tell. There were a number of small touches that suggest owners who care about their hotel - e.g., each room seems to be decorated a bit differently with matching drapes and bedspreads, and there is stenciled art on the walls in the hallways. The only problem I noticed in terms of cleanliness was a stain on my bedspread, but I didn't need it anyhow due to the heat so I simply put it away. The bathroom was very large by the standards of most European hotels, and had a full tub with a shower attached. The minibar was stocked with local beer and wine at reasonable prices. Breakfast is included in the price and there are extensive offerings typical of a German breakfast - boiled eggs, breads, fruits, yogurt, vegetables. The location is great - an easy walk from the central train station and close to most historic and tourist sites and the main downtown area.

I had a single room and the bed was built into the wall. The hotel is not air conditioned - there is little need for it really, given the mild temperatures in Würzburg - but it can get stuffy when the windows are closed if it is warm outside. This was a problem for me because groups of teens hung around outside in the streets until well after midnight. The windows are great at blocking noise when closed, but as mentioned it gets warm in the room. So, it was either listen to the noise from the street or close the window and let it get stuffy. Each room has a fan, which helps. Also, as with many European hotels, there is no top sheet - only a bottom sheet and a padded cover that is quite warm, so between the noise (or heat) and the warm comforter, I had trouble getting comfortable some nights. To avoid this, ask for a room with no windows facing on the street (many face in to a sort of courtyard area).

The staff was very friendly, and everyone working the front desk spoke English.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel and not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambystoma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Older hotel at intersection of three main streets, is still quiet. Rooms are large and plush, even a little cluttered, but very comfortable. Desk was always well staffed and polite, and all spoke English. Breakfast is 10 euro extra per person, and is quite lavish, and starts at 6:30.

This is a good place to stay if you are flying out of Frankfurt, as it is only around 400 meters from train station. There are many connections direct to this airport, taking less than 90 minutes. Hotel is close to the Residenz and city center, too.

Their website is not so good at processing information, particularly in English. Curiously, one of the desk clerks was typing something on a typewriter when we arrived! While not on the cutting edge of technology, these folks can take care of you.

Room Tip: Go offsite, or call them--their website is weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were ok, nothing to write home about, but were clean, comfortable. I would base staying here upon the rate compared to other hotels in town. Service wise, the staff working the breakfast were warm, friendly, a perfect way to start your day. And the breakfast was pretty good too. The reception staff were ok, just don't ask too many questions because they're busy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docGamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.3 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#14 of 45 in Wurzburg
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 45 in Wurzburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wurzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wurzburger Hof

Property: Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Address: Barbarossaplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wurzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wurzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wurzburger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing