We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alte Mainmuhle

Alte Mainmuhle
Ranked #5 of 345 Restaurants in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our group enjoyed the evening at the restaurant.... beautiful, convenient location and great German cuisine. Lots of choices on the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    291
    84
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

For those who want some genuine and strong German food this is a great place. Wonderful location just next alte mainbrücke with a nice view to the fortress marienberg

Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had just arrived in Wurzburg for a week of shopping the Christmas Markets. We chose this restaurant for dinner and were not disappointed. The menu was in English and the server spoke English and was very cordial. We both ordered soups, potato and roasted pumpkin, and shared a platter of cold German meats, sausages, and cheeses. It also came with bread and mustards. Local wine topped off the meal. Everything was delicious. The room warm and cozy and decorated for Christmas. It was the perfect spot to begin our Christmas Market adventure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clazar520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional German”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I came here before a concert in town. The beer and wine menu is great. The menu itself it film of traditional German cuisine. I had the smoked pork shoulder which was wonderful. I had the chocolate bean dessert (not on English menu) and it was superb.

Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We decided to visit this restaurant due to the good reviews on tripadvisor. It's a pretty average restaurant. The service is pretty average. The lady serving us seems a bit impatient when we needed more time to consider what to order. The food itself is pretty average. As for the views, it seems to be overlooking the canals which is not really fantastic views.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocean8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alte Mainmuhle also viewed

Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Alte Mainmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing