We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far away from the center and poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte
Ranked #187 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Far away from the center and poor quality”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel on May 2014 for 2 nights. The rooms are spacious but there are no air conditioning, the internet was intermittent, and the hotel was definitely too far away from the zone it was announced. I didn't know Berlin at all, so I trusted the references given by the hotel.
It was close to a subway station, so that was good.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for air conditioning in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osocuetara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for taking time and sending us your comments.
We apologize for your inconvenience.

We always want to improve our services and those comments like yours are very helpful for us.


Kind regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    438
    202
    68
    32
See reviews for
156
412
52
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Probably the best money/value hotel we have ever stayed in Berlin. Don't know what kind of special discount it was, but we paid only 54 euros per night (stayed four nights) just before Easter weekend. And that included a plentiful breakfast buffet. Also the room was spacious and clean.

For first time visitors (especially if the visit is short) this hotel isn't the best choice due to the location. No famous sights or shopping opportunities within walking distance (except Bornholmer Bridge and former Berlin Wall border crossing). But for those who have already seen Reichstag, Brandenburger Tor, KaDeWe and so on, this hotel is a great choice. Very convenient to travel to eastern parts of Berlin by tram. Easy access from Tegel airport by bus 128 to U-Bahn Osloer Strasse and then tram ride of two stops.

Only minus if your room was in upper floors, just one lift.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lennuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to convince you of our excellent value for money .

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is not in Mitte, its in Wedding and its quite far from central Berlin. I booked through Expedia and the description was very misleading. But we got a good deal.

That being said, we had a good overall experience at this hotel. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, the hotel was quiet, and they offer free naturally flavored water in the lobby. One of the front desk staff, the manager I think, was very helpful to plot out on my map 5 beer gardens that I was searching for. They securely stored our luggage after we checked out but had a late flight. The 12 euro breakfast is an ok spread- scrambled eggs, sausages, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, and more. Although their tiny water glasses are laughable and require you to fill up from their bottles 5 times to quench your thirst. They don't give any lotion, shampoo, or conditioner so be sure to bring yours. Also, no A/C but they do provide a fan.

We took the M13 tram one stop to the Bornholmer Str. S train station to go everywhere. Once we got the hang of it, we just accepted that it would take us an extra 30 mins to get to/from the hotel (combo of transit time from hotel to station plus getting into the centrum area).

Nice experience, but for those visiting Berlin for the weekend, I wouldn't recommend it due to the location. Everything else was great though. Stayed in room 508 (on the 4th floor and detached from the rest of the building).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it helps us to improve our services on a regular basis.
Our house is located near the city centre which you can reach by Underground in less than10 minutes ( Alexanderplatz ). We are sorry we did not meet your expectations about the location of our hotel but the hotel does.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in May. I was upgraded to a superior room free of charge on arrival by a very friendly receptionist. My room was large, modern and comfortable. No mini bar or room service. Only one lift for 5 floors was very frustrating as it could take quite some time to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this and will forward your kind words to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte some time in the future!

Kind regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed 5 nights in this hotel on March 2014. Our room was big enough as it was suite room but I do not recommend this hotel because of the location, (not in walking distance to mitte centre) the low quality of service;all of the receptionist were not friendly and helpful (except one girl) no room service; the first night as our room was so cold and we have taken an extra heater and we have need an iron (with the iron board), we had carried all these to our room by ourself
The hotel needs to renovate. You don't feel that is a Wyndham chain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HISTORIAonur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

i appreciate you taking the time to rate your recent stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel just outside the centre really, but great transport links, (get an ABC ticket that you can use all day for subway, tram & train) it's about 10mins walk from the subway stop & train. Wifi was offered but was intermittent which was really frustrating a down point for us, for me it didn't work in the room then when in the bar it may let you on for 5 mins then you have to log on again, really annoying, I'd prefer it said no wifi than that.
Staff great, especially receptionist trainee who couldn't help enough with any query-wish I took her name. The reception also helped us book a table at a restaurant which we really appreciated. Hotel bar reasonably priced we drank every night in there when we got back from being out & food looked really good, the prices were competitive & with being a little out the way it was good to get back then have a cheeky drink before bed. The bed was comfortable & bath great, needed after the walking tours we did! My 1 snag was that check out was at 12 noon, so on the last day we thought we'd take our time. 9am a member of staff knocked on the door wanting to check we were going! Very strange & ended up leaving straight away rather than leisurely as we'd planned.
It should be said that there are 2 hotels here, Wyndham Garden hotel & the grand city hotel Berlin. But you use all the facilities of the Wyndham ie- reception, bar, lobby.
All in all a great stay we loved Berlin & would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmapownall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comments on this page, we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for. We have taken the critics received about the Wi-Fi connection and about our housekeeping staff into consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting my Granddaughter in Berlin.My room was quiet and very comfortable.The bathroom was huge.Everything was very clean.Plenty of sockets for electricals and free wifi .I didn't eat here so I can't comment on the dinning room.Reception staff were always welcoming and helpful. The location is generally residential but within walking distance of the S and U Bahns.Trams and buses are also available on Osloer Strasse. It takes about 15 minute to walk to the station for the train to the airport. Similarly 15 minutes will take you to the U Bahn station for the city centre which requires one change but will take you about 20-30 minutes.There is not many restaurants nearby but the Italian,Sara's, is less than 5 minutes away and does good food at a reasonable price.The price makes this a great stay for a city visit.

Room Tip: My room, 214, was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comments. I'am glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for Were looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#286 of 634 in Berlin
1,958 reviews
Moabit
Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#213 of 634 in Berlin
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte

Property: Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte
Address: Osloer Str. 116a, 13359 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte)
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing