We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with good food, generous portions”

Giraffe Restaurant-Kneipe-Cafe
Ranked #1,014 of 8,367 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly with good food, generous portions”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I recently visited this Restaurant on a trip to Berlin with my family. Even on a Tuesday night it was busy. The interior is warm and welcoming, staff speak excellent English and are helpful.

The only downside for us was being seated in the children's area, and on the night we visited the service was a little slow. However the food was tasty, served piping hot, with generous portions. Cost was we spent 45 Euros for a family of four including drinks which is about the going rate in Berlin.

The restaurant is a five minute walk from either the Tiergarten train station, or the Novotel Hotel, and is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Note there does not appear to be a great selection of restaurants on this particular part of Berlin.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    68
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fusion cuisine?”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Went in with a bunch of friends and ordered salmon. I guessed it got the short straw as it was close to tasteless, served on a bed of boiled rice. Others in my party seemed happier with their choices, especially those who chose chicken gorgonzola and other meat dishes. The waitress seemed to be coping well despite the large party and orders came out fast from the kitchen. An affordable place for a nice out with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odraccir_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Hidden surprise”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Went here on holiday when staying at Novotel Tiergarten. What a hidden gem, just tucked inside Tiergarten park. Lovely interior, arrived at 11am and still serving breakfast.

I had a croissant with butter and jam (which came with a side salad!) for €3 (about £2) and the fresh juice €2 (£1) which was lovely and fresh.

Excellent bi-lingual English speaking staff who were more than happy to translate the menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
328 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“nice escape”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I love this place. A quiet location so close to the city center. The service is great. The food (and they have a large choice ....including superdooper cakes!) as well. In the summer-time you can even sit outside in the beer-garden! All that for reasonable prices! We will come back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mudhoney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Don't expect it at that place - but their asian food is magnificent! Try their soup and noodles on the card.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dutchbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giraffe Restaurant-Kneipe-Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe Restaurant-Kneipe-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing