We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "free tour" with "Zabi"”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.30*
and up
Berlin Pub Crawl Including VIP Club Entry
Ranked #1 of 601 Nightlife in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: FREE TOURS of Berlin every day in English and Spanish. Pub Crawls and tours of Sachsenhausen, Potsdam, Third Reich Berlin, Red Berlin and more.Founded in 2003 by Yale University graduate Chris Sandeman, SANDEMANs NEW Europe thrives on a simple concept: Everyone, no matter their budget, should be able to discover Europe through the eyes of an expert. Connecting great guides with smart travelers, we believe in supporting our local communities and are commited to giving a voice to self-employed guides who have chosen Berlin as their home.By ensuring that every native English or Spanish speaking guide represents our unique style of mixing history and story-telling while maintaining their own personality and flair, we've become one of the most popular tour companies in the world. Helping superb independent guides connect with thousands of travelers a day, we provide these local freelancers the possibility to inform and entertain you, and they employ us to spread the news about this great concept.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Excellent "free tour" with "Zabi"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friends and I were on a weekend trip to Berlin (Juni 2014). One activity was the "free tour" through Berlin, our tour guide was Zabi. Without overdoing, this was the most informative, entertaining and emotional city tour ever! We saw many meaningful places and heard a lot about the german berlin history. Although we are german there were many new infomations and new points of view in Zabis report.
Zabi is a really nice guy, with some good gags, talking good english, pronouncing with a slight accent. He know a lot about Berlin and the history.
The 2,5 h ran soo fast and we enjoyed it so so much! Again at any time!!!

THANKS ZABI

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,450
    1,440
    211
    103
    99
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great free walking tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great free walking tour that covers the main attractions in Berlin!

We had an awesome guide - Zabi. His knowledge and passion for the city shone through. One of the best guides i've had so far in Europe.

~ Joined the 2pm tour on 8 Jun 2014

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yangyu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Greatest tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

On our first day in Berlin we did the free walking tour. We were so impressed by our tour guide, Sam, that we booked into two more tours with him, the Third Reich (the same day, in the afternoon) an a few days later for Sachsenhausen.

Sam's ability to draw parallels between past and current atrocities increased our comprehension of this period in time. Sam expertly used comic relief to enable the group to continue through emotionally tough parts of each tour. We didn't feel any of this was inappropriate, rather it drew attention to ironies that we other wise would not have recognised or known about. Sam also had excellent recommendations for books, movies, food, shopping and thing to do after the tour, much more than we were expecting.

Thank you Sam for enhancing our Berlin experience, it has definitely been the highlight of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“An amazing day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

4 of us went on the Sachsenhausen tour with Sam. It was a really interesting day and while heavy and emotional is some ways Sam was fantastic, full of information, nice and careful to check on everyone on a hot day and see how we were going. This is a really good tour to go on if you have the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!! Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our first time in Berlin, my daughter and I decided to do the walking tour.
Rob MFC was awesome! Theres a lot of history to cover and he did it without boring you
Interesting little facts made it all the more intriguing. We stopped half way in the tour at a snack shop. here you can use the restrooms, get a drink, etc...
I am 58 years old and found the pace and the length of time perfect. Strongly suggest everyone
do this once!! Rob thank you so much for a great afternoon.!! and please tip generously at the end , theres no pre ticket to buy! they only make what you tip!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank curves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin also viewed

 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing