We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliable facilities”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #8 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

quick walk to nearest subway/tram stop. staff was friendly and helpful in providing advice for eats, sights, etc.

rooms were comfortable, thought slightly cramped (6 person room). had three bunks, 6 lockers and a smaller coffee table with 4 stools. locker storage was adequate and secure. bathroom located in room. shower also slightly cramped (not unusual) and water leaked into rest of bathroom pretty frequently.

located in great neighborhood for keeping busy throughout the day and access to public transportation allow you to get around the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egatesgtesagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at Wombat's and had a great time. The service from the staff was friendly and helpful, and they were always very knowledgeable when we had a question. The location was easy to get to, with the metro station just around the corner. It has a restaurant at the bottom of the hotel, which was very handy as that's where you could have your breakfast if you chose to (and paid the 3.50 Euros), and they also served tasty meals as well (we ate there every night!). They had space to store luggage as we were early for check-in. There is also a bar at the top of the hotel which was great.

We stayed in a private room (not in the hostel part). Our room was clean and tidy and the furnishings were modern. Clean bathroom which is always important too! We would stay there again and recommend it to others. The only thing we would say against the hotel is that the hallways were a little noisy at night (perhaps some sound insulation would help).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rooms are very clean and so are the rest rooms. Each bed is assigned a locker which is great. It's easy to get to from the main train station and has free wifi on the ground floor.

That's cool but why Wombats? They have a bar on the top floor and it attracts a lively and sociable crowd. Regardless of how "outgoing" you are. Roll into the bar during happy hour and it's packed with other people in the same situation as you.

Think of it as "Frosh Week" where everyone is meeting, as a result you'll definitely meet people and your Berlin adventure will start. Mine started in my dorm but if that doesn't work, for sure meet some cool people at the bar.

They also have a double room suite that is very nice and a very good deal. If you're a backpacker and with a gf or something of that nature it's worth it. Stayed in one of those for a few nights with a lady I was dating...

Rob aka http://stophavingaboringlife.com

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very clean, good size room, helpful staff. Having stayed in a few hostels, this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadeofshyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

very clean hostel, staff very friendly and really thoughtful design ie each bed has own table and plug to charge phones etc. huge room with own bathroom and amazing location right near all good shops and cafes and the metro line. highly recommend vietnamese restaurant opposite too! (bar on top floor fine but not very cool reminded me of university discos with lots of drunk lads at about 7 in the evening, though sound does not affect rooms even though i was on floor just below)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripsplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Did a solo trip to Berlin and stayed at Wombats for the first two nights; booked through HostelWorld.com and when I got the email confirmation, specific directions were included. The directions were detailed and accurate; you really can't get lost when getting to this place. I think this place is my first official hostel stay, although it really didn't feel like a hostel. As the place is so big, it didn't have that intimate feeling to it, compared to the other smaller ones I've stayed after this place. The lobby's walls are bright green colored with red sofa's/bean bag chairs on the floor, about 8 computer stations for internet use (0.50eur/20 mins, 1eur/40mins), and about 3 vending machines. There are also bulletin boards with great restaurant, things-to-do suggestions, and even a 3 day weather forecast (How cute!) The shared kitchen is also on the first floor with access to the back yard where you can drink/smoke. The fridge to store your food is pretty huge; kitchen comes with some free food that the previous guests left, I guess. I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm ensuite so we had our own private bath/toilet in the room. Before you enter the elevator to get to your room; you have to pick up your bedsheets/pillow case [complete set wrapped/sealed in plastic so you know you're getting fresh, clean sheets!] and have to put it all on your own. Each bed (3 bunk beds altogether) had its own night/reading light and electric socket so you can charge your phone/cameras/etc. Each guest also had its own locker that is assigned by the front desk person. The same card used to open the doors is the same "key" to open the locker - PRETTY NEAT! (No actual locks needed!) The room and toilet were spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The WIFi only works in the lobby so that's where everyone was pretty much hanging out. It's a good way to really get everyone together and talking. A lot of the people in Wombats were in their late teens, early 20's and the hostel seemed to have a party/college dorm atmosphere to it along with the "clique'y-ness" while I was there. I did meet some other guests in the their late 20's, early 30's (thank God!).
There is a rooftop bar with outdoor seating on the 7th floor; they have their own Happy Hour from 6-8pm. The outdoor seating area was a bit cramped but def a great place to get our beer on and watch the sunset! There is also a restaurant right next door (though I didn't try it for lunch nor dinner) with an appetizing, somewhat cheap menu. The breakfast for the hostel (3.50eur unlimited) is served at this same restaurant as well. There's a really delicious Vietnamese restaurant literally right across the street, and a pizzeria one block down at the corner. There's also a bicycle rental place within a couple of steps from the hostel. Berlin's mostly flat and so spread out, I do recommend renting a bike.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here as a large group on a stag party in Berlin. It's an easy walk from the underground system so you can get to any sights very easily. The reception is modern with internet and the rooms are spacious with a good shower and clean amenities. Most importantly to us, the Wombar on the top floor was superb with great staff and lots of space to play pool, watch TV and drink good beer in good company. There was no curfew so we could get in at whatever time we wanted and there was never any problem from the staff. Could not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Deeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,276 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#4 of 358 in Berlin
932 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 358 in Berlin
720 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#9 of 358 in Berlin
2,281 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 358 in Berlin
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £14 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wombat's Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing