We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #9 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have stayed in hostels all around the world, and Wombats is by far the best. The staff are wonderful, the facilities are amazing, and the crowd that it attracts is a great group of people. Start your night in the bar upstairs and then go from there to discover Berlin. We stayed in a private room, it was equal in quality to any hotel room with the added bonus of a backpackers atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    318
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
21
149
228
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Super close to the Ubahn, supermarkets and some clubs, we found this hostel perfect for those just wanting somewhere to crash at night. The staff were helpful, internet was cheap and loved the fact it had a kitchen were you could heat something up for dinner and save a few extra dollars.
Our beds were super comfy and always came back to a super clean room. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zommiebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great helpfull staff, modern clean dorms with ensuite shower rooms all beds have a power point and bed light, individual lockers,secure entry, fab roof top bar with great views and happy hours, food there is good too. it's in a great location for bars, restaurants and nightlife the staff will help you with this, only one stop from Alexanderplatz where all the tours leave from. I can recommend Fat Tyre Bike tours I did 2 very good value and great fun. ENJOY!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

After reading such good reviews here, we didn't hesitate to book at Wombat's Hostel and we were not disappointed. Located in a very fashionable area near many fashion + vintage shops, this is an amazing hostel in a great location. The staff are extremely friendly and have a great grasp of English. The rooms are clean and the beds well spaced out. The lounge is really great and has free wifi as does the rest of the hostel but signal doesn't stretch very far. They give you sheets as they don't want you bringing potentially dirty sheets/bed bugs from other hostels and quite right so! This is a great way of maintaining the great sanity of the hostel. The breakfast was quite cheap at only 3-4euros but it wasn't very nice at all. Only a bit of cereal and toast but it was cheap so not complaining! The hostel is quite youthful and you can definitely get talking to people here although there are also private rooms so you could stay here as a family too. The bar is great, the drinks are cheap and it's a great way to socialise. I would definitely stay in this hostel or another branch of Wombats again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

A very friendly hostel to meet travellers of all ages. Very helpful reception staff always avaliable to answer any questions.

Room Tip: With Berlin choose a hotel/hostel thats in a back street to get the price down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanaghan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Not sure where they get their staff from, but boy, can they talk! As a family of five, with two parents in their 40s, we didn't expect to make friends staying in a hostel. But on leaving, one of the guys behind the desk came out to hug me and say he hoped we'd come back again soon! We booked an entire dorm of six beds and it was still good value. The bathroom was big and very clean and the bunk beds were surprisingly comfortable.
Berlin is a fascinating city; and right now, this is its time. It's buzzing, it's full of excitement, and it's a place which offers something for everyone. And Wombat's Hostel is a perfect, clean, friendly place to stay as a base for exploring this fabulous capital. Train travel is easy and cheap, and Wombat's is very near a station. The free walking tours leaving from the Brandenburg Gate are interesting and informative, and I'm sure there were many more things we could have done if we'd stayed longer. Perhaps we'll just have to return!
Breakfast downstairs was definitely worth the money, so much so that we donated our cornflakes to the communal kitchen and didn't bother with making breakfast after our first morning. The kitchen is really well stocked and made travelling with kids much easier, as did the colouring books they were given upon arrival.
Our nightly trips to the bar (with the kids!) were brilliant - we got a glimpse of the future when the kids grow up and go backpacking themselves :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ger_in_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Have stayed here a few times before too, and it's one of my preferred places to stay when visiting Berlin. Prices are reasonable, location is excellent, rooms are nice and clean and the atmosphere is very nice too.

Breakfast is not very expensive either, I think. It's pretty basic, but that's what I need. Buying something comparable at a train station or in the street is not going to be *that* much cheaper, so I'd say the breakfast is worth the money.

The rooms are like basic hotel rooms, only with more beds and less furniture. Bathrooms are roomy and clean, the boxes in the room locks with the door key card, so no need to bring or buy your own lock. Wi-fi is only in the lobby or the top floor bar, but is free of charge and pretty fast.

The roof terrace is a great place, just too bad it closes early because of grumpy neighbors complaining about the noise. The bar can be pretty noisy, but after all, this is not a retirement home either. ;) Noise is no problem, neither traffic nor guests despite the hostel being located on the corner of a very busy intersection.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Property: Wombat's Berlin
Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing