We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here at least one night, if you're visiting Berlin”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #8 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A lot has been said already about the place, so I probably will not be original.
1. The staff is really awesome. They are not just helpful, when you check in or try to find your way around, it is more than that. I've slept through my check out time. The girl from the reception came to me in a few hours I should've be gone, gently woke me up and just said that soon it will be the time for me to leave. No fuss, no extra charges. I could not believe it.
2. Wombar. It is truly a good place to start your night in Berlin, cheap, cozy and packed with fun people. also have a special jar to practice your coin throwing skills. For each coin in, you get 1 or 3 shots, depending on a coin, And roof terrace has an awesome view.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have stayed in hostels all around the world, and Wombats is by far the best. The staff are wonderful, the facilities are amazing, and the crowd that it attracts is a great group of people. Start your night in the bar upstairs and then go from there to discover Berlin. We stayed in a private room, it was equal in quality to any hotel room with the added bonus of a backpackers atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Super close to the Ubahn, supermarkets and some clubs, we found this hostel perfect for those just wanting somewhere to crash at night. The staff were helpful, internet was cheap and loved the fact it had a kitchen were you could heat something up for dinner and save a few extra dollars.
Our beds were super comfy and always came back to a super clean room. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zommiebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great helpfull staff, modern clean dorms with ensuite shower rooms all beds have a power point and bed light, individual lockers,secure entry, fab roof top bar with great views and happy hours, food there is good too. it's in a great location for bars, restaurants and nightlife the staff will help you with this, only one stop from Alexanderplatz where all the tours leave from. I can recommend Fat Tyre Bike tours I did 2 very good value and great fun. ENJOY!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After reading such good reviews here, we didn't hesitate to book at Wombat's Hostel and we were not disappointed. Located in a very fashionable area near many fashion + vintage shops, this is an amazing hostel in a great location. The staff are extremely friendly and have a great grasp of English. The rooms are clean and the beds well spaced out. The lounge is really great and has free wifi as does the rest of the hostel but signal doesn't stretch very far. They give you sheets as they don't want you bringing potentially dirty sheets/bed bugs from other hostels and quite right so! This is a great way of maintaining the great sanity of the hostel. The breakfast was quite cheap at only 3-4euros but it wasn't very nice at all. Only a bit of cereal and toast but it was cheap so not complaining! The hostel is quite youthful and you can definitely get talking to people here although there are also private rooms so you could stay here as a family too. The bar is great, the drinks are cheap and it's a great way to socialise. I would definitely stay in this hostel or another branch of Wombats again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A very friendly hostel to meet travellers of all ages. Very helpful reception staff always avaliable to answer any questions.

Room Tip: With Berlin choose a hotel/hostel thats in a back street to get the price down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanaghan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Not sure where they get their staff from, but boy, can they talk! As a family of five, with two parents in their 40s, we didn't expect to make friends staying in a hostel. But on leaving, one of the guys behind the desk came out to hug me and say he hoped we'd come back again soon! We booked an entire dorm of six beds and it was still good value. The bathroom was big and very clean and the bunk beds were surprisingly comfortable.
Berlin is a fascinating city; and right now, this is its time. It's buzzing, it's full of excitement, and it's a place which offers something for everyone. And Wombat's Hostel is a perfect, clean, friendly place to stay as a base for exploring this fabulous capital. Train travel is easy and cheap, and Wombat's is very near a station. The free walking tours leaving from the Brandenburg Gate are interesting and informative, and I'm sure there were many more things we could have done if we'd stayed longer. Perhaps we'll just have to return!
Breakfast downstairs was definitely worth the money, so much so that we donated our cornflakes to the communal kitchen and didn't bother with making breakfast after our first morning. The kitchen is really well stocked and made travelling with kids much easier, as did the colouring books they were given upon arrival.
Our nightly trips to the bar (with the kids!) were brilliant - we got a glimpse of the future when the kids grow up and go backpacking themselves :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ger_in_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 358 in Berlin
734 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 358 in Berlin
2,296 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 358 in Berlin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £18 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wombat's Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing