We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amazing what else can I say!!”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #9 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“just amazing what else can I say!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

location is great!!
bar is good priced and has amazing city wide views of so many things!!
the bedrooms are really nice, we had a 6 bed dorm 5 of us and another lad travelling solo who we made great mates with during the stay.
staff go out of there way to make it a nice enjoyable stay also there is someone to help out with like the events in the area and whole of berlin like we went to a bad religion concert while in berlin because of them!!! no way we woulda found out about it any other way.
try out the restaurant downstairs to its southern USA themed love dat gumbo and jambalaya mmmm mmmmmmm!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENS1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    325
    57
    24
    14
See reviews for
21
149
234
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed with my partner for 3 nights in a private room dodging the dorms stacked full of American and Australian travellers.

Our room was small but clean and comfortable. Great value for money considering the price.
Downstairs you will find internet access, helpful staff and a convenient bar to kick-start your evening. Location is great , free handy maps are available from reception.

Highly recommend the private rooms for those on a budget and less willing to share their space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLondonReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hostel. I really enjoyed my time here. We stayed in Wombats for 4 nights and I could have stayed for longer. The staff at reception were beyond helpful. We were travelling as a group of 4 and asked to stay in a room together. They not only did this for us but also put us in a room all to ourselves.
Bunk beds were wooden and very comfortable. Bathroom was modern with a great shower. the bar upstairs has amazing views it is just a pity it closes at 10 o clock. The inside bar is very social with games table. There are also drinks promos here and happy hours!
The hostel is in a prime location 5 minutes walk from Alexander Platz. I would stay here again without a doubt. Thumbs up all the way. Thank you wombats!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Lass1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a "private apartment" inside this hostel for 1 week (Easter 2012), which was a very good choice for a group of friends.

Everything was nice, very clean and well organised! The service provided at the reception was helpfull and kind.

The hostel is very central located, just a few steps from the main city places.

Great value for money. In addition, there is a nice terrace pub with great view and cocktails! i strongly recommand this place... enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliente_esigente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour in June 2014. Also stayed here for one night in July at the end of the organised tour too.

The hostel is really easy to get too - it's about a 10 minute walk from Alexanderplatz if you've got luggage. The staff on reception are really helpful and all speak English really well. They will ask for a form of ID on check-in (e.g. driving licence, ID card etc.) so that you can have a keycard. Sleeping bags and food in the rooms are banned, which is a good way to stop bedbugs that plague other hostels, so it's good that they provide bed linen for all - you can hire a towel from them, or just bring your own.

The rooms are a good size and if you're on the right side, you'll have an awesome view of the TV tower. The bunkbeds are modern and the mattress are okay, so you can get a good night's sleep. There's a shelf, with a power socket and a light by each bed, which is great for charging stuff and to have your phone to hand at night for the time. There are lockers in all the dorms and they're a good size - you use your keycard to open and close them so you don't need to worry about a padlock. We had an en suite room - these are basic (i,e. no toiletries provided at all) but the shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The best part of this hostel is the rooftop bar - it's got amazing views over eastern Berlin, including the TV Tower and you can see as far as the Reichstag. There is a happy hour in the bar and drinks are reasonably prized anyway. There are laundry facilities in the basement and if you opt for breakfast, you get a voucher for the restaurant that adjoins the hostel - it's a continental breakfast (cold meats, bread, jam, juice etc.) but if you don't opt for it, there are plenty of cafes on the same street.

The only negative when we stayed was the wifi - it was ridiculously slow, to the point of the internet not even working sometimes. Hopefully they have addresses this as it's the only bad point and can be quite crucial at times!

I'd definitely recommend staying here - it's great whether you're in a group, or a solo traveller as the hostel has good facilities and a great vibe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'm travelling solo and I stayed here for 3 nights in early June and had a really good time.

The beds and hostel was pretty average but it was clean and a friendly environment.
My favourite part of the hostel was the bar with the patio/balcony that overlooked the whole of Berlin. Since I'm travelling alone it was nice to get to know people over a beer and discuss my plans with them.

The staff are also really helpful
would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liviloo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I took a trip to Berlin and chose Wombats, due to my previous good experience at a wombats hostel in Vienna. And we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and gave excellent advice on trains/places to visit.
The room was very clean and the bathroom was modern.
The hostel offered a great roof top bar which showed great city views and sold reasonably priced drinks. Would absolutely choose wombats if I travel on a budget again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SueTout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#4 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Property: Wombat's Berlin
Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing