We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, absolutely fantastic”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #10 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic, absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good location, around 20 min walk from Brandeburg gate, rooms are really nice and spacious with good toilet and shower facilities for each room. Roof top terrace is brilliant, great views of Berlin and you can bring your own food and drink to the roof terrace until it closes at 10pm. There is a bar just off the roof top terrace which is really fun and cheap (was 2 euro a pint) with a large TV for watching the footy and a big pool table too. Loads of room to hang out and meet people. The staff are super friendly too.. The reception areas has places to chill and read a book if your into that.. Last but not least is the price per bed per night, it's 26 euro to stay here but it is worth every penny. This was my third time in Berlin and I prob payed half the price for the other two hostels but they still don't match up to the Wombat city hostel..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    327
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
21
151
235
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I know Berlin pretty well and chose this hostel because of it's great location. Right next to a U-Bahn, and close enough to walk to the Alexanderplatz. Room was good, nice size beds, amazing shower, although the room was incredibly hot. All the staff were really helpful and friendly, and the free beer vouchers were great.

Only annoying thing was that the rooftop bar closes at 10pm which is far too early, and you then have to go all the way from the seventh floor to the ground floor to smoke. But in the day it was great, amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannaseat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Berlin is a big city so it's impossible to be close to everything but they are close to the subway which is awesome. The hostel was clean, rooms were great. Little things like a shower in the room and even better little outlets hooked up by each bunk make hostel life so much better. They had a great bar upstairs as well.
The only thing that bugged me about the hostel was poor wifi. You had to log in everytime you wanted to use it and it would frequently disconnect. The wifi also didn't work in the room at all so everytime we wanted to check something online we would have to go to the lobby. They have computers which they charge you to use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

location is great!!
bar is good priced and has amazing city wide views of so many things!!
the bedrooms are really nice, we had a 6 bed dorm 5 of us and another lad travelling solo who we made great mates with during the stay.
staff go out of there way to make it a nice enjoyable stay also there is someone to help out with like the events in the area and whole of berlin like we went to a bad religion concert while in berlin because of them!!! no way we woulda found out about it any other way.
try out the restaurant downstairs to its southern USA themed love dat gumbo and jambalaya mmmm mmmmmmm!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENS1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed with my partner for 3 nights in a private room dodging the dorms stacked full of American and Australian travellers.

Our room was small but clean and comfortable. Great value for money considering the price.
Downstairs you will find internet access, helpful staff and a convenient bar to kick-start your evening. Location is great , free handy maps are available from reception.

Highly recommend the private rooms for those on a budget and less willing to share their space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLondonReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hostel. I really enjoyed my time here. We stayed in Wombats for 4 nights and I could have stayed for longer. The staff at reception were beyond helpful. We were travelling as a group of 4 and asked to stay in a room together. They not only did this for us but also put us in a room all to ourselves.
Bunk beds were wooden and very comfortable. Bathroom was modern with a great shower. the bar upstairs has amazing views it is just a pity it closes at 10 o clock. The inside bar is very social with games table. There are also drinks promos here and happy hours!
The hostel is in a prime location 5 minutes walk from Alexander Platz. I would stay here again without a doubt. Thumbs up all the way. Thank you wombats!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Lass1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a "private apartment" inside this hostel for 1 week (Easter 2012), which was a very good choice for a group of friends.

Everything was nice, very clean and well organised! The service provided at the reception was helpfull and kind.

The hostel is very central located, just a few steps from the main city places.

Great value for money. In addition, there is a nice terrace pub with great view and cocktails! i strongly recommand this place... enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliente_esigente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,543 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#9 of 349 in Berlin
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 349 in Berlin
898 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
705 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Property: Wombat's Berlin
Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing