We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good!”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #8 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complain about this place. Own personal power points and makeshift "bedside tables" in the bunks. Friendly staff. Roomy bedrooms. Good decor. Good location. Comfy beds. Only odd and kind of annoying thing was the fact that to get a room key, you has to leave your passport or license with them at the desk until you returned the key. Also, the rooftop bar closed at 10pm which was disappointing- but not at the fault of the hostel (but due to surrounding people comparing).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michellehammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

So far on my trip across Europe Wombats has by far been the best hostel we've experienced! We are a group of three 18 year old girls and this hostel was perfect. It's in a great location with shops, restaurants, clubs, bars etc. all within walking distance and also very close to public transport facilities! The rooms were lovely and clean with private bathrooms and good wifi.

The rooftop bar was amazing and a great way to meet people. Everyone was so friendly and it's such a big and busy place that you're bound to make friends! You also get a free drink each at the bar. Great place to relax in the daytime and great place to have fun at night!

Directly opposite the hostel was a beautiful Vietnamese restaurant which was very good value and extremely nice food. The kitchen facilities in the hostel itself were also good.

Only downside is there's no free breakfast but I would definitely still recommend staying here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Phillips505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I arrived early after a very long flight from New Zealand, the staff were very friendly and helpful. i put my stuff in to storage and went exploring this great city.......after a long day, I arrived back, the staff member saw me arrive and had my room card, and everything ready for me to collect, so I could get up to my room, The room was very clean and welcoming after such a long day, the only down side was no air con! The Bar on the 7th floor was AMAZING, more spectacular views and good beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels to get the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwibouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

the hostel has it's own pub above the roof (= no neighbours) but you can't have fun there. The hotels itself is sparely equipped, the rooms are clean but really small, breakfast ends to early, not really quiet

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manu-wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very well run hostel. The apartment I stayed was great (though no aircon). Staff is very nice and location is superb. There was a bit of an iffy smell on the room but for 90 Euros-simply great, Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DandanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good location, around 20 min walk from Brandeburg gate, rooms are really nice and spacious with good toilet and shower facilities for each room. Roof top terrace is brilliant, great views of Berlin and you can bring your own food and drink to the roof terrace until it closes at 10pm. There is a bar just off the roof top terrace which is really fun and cheap (was 2 euro a pint) with a large TV for watching the footy and a big pool table too. Loads of room to hang out and meet people. The staff are super friendly too.. The reception areas has places to chill and read a book if your into that.. Last but not least is the price per bed per night, it's 26 euro to stay here but it is worth every penny. This was my third time in Berlin and I prob payed half the price for the other two hostels but they still don't match up to the Wombat city hostel..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I know Berlin pretty well and chose this hostel because of it's great location. Right next to a U-Bahn, and close enough to walk to the Alexanderplatz. Room was good, nice size beds, amazing shower, although the room was incredibly hot. All the staff were really helpful and friendly, and the free beer vouchers were great.

Only annoying thing was that the rooftop bar closes at 10pm which is far too early, and you then have to go all the way from the seventh floor to the ground floor to smoke. But in the day it was great, amazing views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannaseat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,611 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 356 in Berlin
1,272 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 356 in Berlin
925 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 356 in Berlin
2,263 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £11 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing