We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - still a nice place”

Brauhaus Georgbraeu
Ranked #193 of 8,504 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Bracknell
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second visit - still a nice place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Returning to Berlin and not being far from the Alexanderplatz, I decided to seek out the restaurant and take my family.

We all had a cooked lunch with beer followed by either a dessert or coffee. For 4 adults the bill was 77 Euros ex tip.
The service was very friendly and atmosphere just as you would hope in a typical German 'Stube'.
Just be warned if you use the loo downstairs there is a man waiting for you with his tip plate.
After lunch it's an easy stroll up to the next bridge (right by the Berlin Dom) for a riverboat trip on the Spree.
If you do fancy looking around the Don be warned it will cost - you can see it for nothing on YouTube!! Use the money for a coffee instead in the outdoor cafe and watch the nearby street performer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickinbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    752
    253
    64
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasting home made beer”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a tipical German food restaurant. We arrived late and very tired after a walking day in Berlim. The service was fast and the tender was very nice and helpful, this felt like an oasis in the desert. My friends told me that the home made beer is excelent. We had sausages, goulash, chocrute and other german dishes, and we loved it. Was it because we were so hungry. Well perhaps but it tasted very good. In fact it was hot in side, but then again it was so cold outside that it felt good, and at the end of the dinner we were wearing just our tops.
The tender took us to a more private room so there was the 8 of us and two other couples, very confortable and we were able to rest from the day. You have to make an effort to find it because it is in a kind of plaza behind the shopping galleries in Nikolaivertel but is worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i_feijao_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Been twice, would recommend!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been to this Brauhaus twice now, and would go again. The food is great, as is the beer,m and there is a great atmosphere. Very traditionally decorated and attractive. The service is not particularly friendly, but it is quick and efficient. A very nice way to spend an evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“rude and unhelpful”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i had been before and couldn't wait to return, however they refused to let us sit outside which made absolutely no sense as all the tables were free, and it was warm and sunny outside in a great location. manager with the moustache was rude and confrontational and i would never return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mic_law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hearty food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had dinner here one night and enjoyed the experience enough to drop by for a pre-prandial beer on a second evening. It's a pleasant spot, relaxed atmosphere, hearty German food and decent beer - go for the dark Pils which is more flavourful than the light version. Some reviewers have complained about the staff but we found them very friendly. We visited Berlin in May when it was too cool to sit outdoors, but the location looks as if it would be good for al-fresco dining in summer, it's in a pretty square by the river dominated by a statue of St George (mounted on a worried looking horse) defeating an evil dragon. This isn't a spot for sophisticated cuisine, but that's not why you visit a brauhaus; on the other hand if you enjoy large hunks of meat and sauerkraut you'll love it. There's sometimes a queue so it's worth calling to make a reservation. I'd definitely go here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brauhaus Georgbraeu also viewed

 

Been to Brauhaus Georgbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing