We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #287 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in a room with a kitchenette. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is very quiet and is right across the road from the Eberswalder Straße U-bahn so you can get around the city no problem.

It is next door to a nice Vietnamese restaurant and a few doors down from a lovely and in-expensive Indian restaurant. There is a small shop next door which sells pretty much everything you could need.

The staff are very polite and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saperavi829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Me and my spouse absolutely love Prenzlauer berg as a neighborhood and this was the first time we stayed there.
Zarenhof is a nice place to stay. Not your typical hotel, our room was within a normal apartment house! So there were locals who actually lived in the building that said hi to us in the hallway. Kind of nice, but then again not what you would expect...
Breakfast was excellent with warm croissants, nice sausages and a very nice home made cereal (looked like a classy dessert, then again tasted that way also). Room and bathroom were nice, but no air condition. Also the lock were killing me. You had to try to find the correct way to turn key and you had to turn around and round many times to lock it or unlock it. A small matter but I found it quite frustrating! Plus there were two of those, our room lock and a lock on the door to the hallway.
Also would have really enjoyed a fridge for some cold drinks! Wireless internet was free of charge but it wasn't very reliable.

Service was friendly and the Eberswalder strasse U-bahn is just in front of the hotel.
Taxi to and from Tegel airport was 20-21€.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PyynikinParoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stopped at the Tourist Info desk at the Berlin Hauptbahnhof and I asked for a nice inexpensive hotel in a charming part of Berlin with sidewalk cafes, small family owned shops, lively atmosphere, parks and green spaces, and easy transportation links. They set me up for one night at Hotel Apartmenthaus Zarenhof in the Prenzlauer Berg district. I liked the hotel and district so much that I stayed for 7 nights. It really made my stay in Berlin memorable. My large room was on the top floor, serviced by an elevator, and had been recently renovated. It was perfect in every way, especially for the price. The wifi signal was free, strong and secure. The U-Bahn station is directly outside the hotel so the entire city is easy to access.

The staff was friendly and went the extra mile to make my time in Berlin enjoyable--I really used their expertise. I can't say enough about their impact on my stay, especially Manuel Sanchez, who showed me how to use the public transportation and was available for all of my questions. Breakfast has good choices and with the nice weather I sat out in the courtyard amongst the flowers and greenery. There was even a harp player on the weekends. The whole atmosphere was peaceful and pleasant. The Hotel Zarehnof is a charming oasis within a lively, energetic area of the city. When I return to Berlin this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li0nheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Very clean and quiet. The food is great and every room has a small kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabik2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Booked hotel through late rooms and we were delighted with the quality of the room, location etc...lovely and warm, very serviceable kitchen, great bathroom. Would stay again as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed in hotel Zarenhof for 6 nights in October. The hotel is located on Schoenhauser Allee, which is a very busy street, but the rooms are all in an inner courtyard far from the rush of the street, so it was very quiet.

The room (superior double room) was fine - too dark in my opinion. the furnishing was also somewhat cheap, but the room was warm, the bed was comfortable, and everything was very clean. We also expected to have a bit more spacious room, with a sofa (because of the double room pictures they have on their website) but appearently this is only for the "deluxe double room", not the superior one.

There is a U-bahn station (eberswalder str.) right in front of the hotel but unfortunately it is closed for renovation for a while. I was very angry to find out about this, because I specifically asked the hotel in advance if the station is working and was told that it is.

BUT (!) - Eventually it didn't matter at all! there is a replacement bus that passes right in front of the hotel every 5 minutes (you"ll never have to wait, really) and takes you to the next U-bahn station down the street. AND, there is a M1 tram line nearby in Kastanianallee str. that was just terrific - it always had a stop exactly where we wanted to go.

the wonderfull streets Kastanianallee and Oderberger are within 2 min. walk from the hotel. They are very fashionable, with caffes, restaurants, boutiques etc.

On weekend they have a harper playing at the dining room and it is very nice!
The staff were very nice and helpful, always smiling.

It is a good place for budget travelers who want to sleep in a hotel, the location is great - but don't expect any luxury of any kind.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Apartmenthaus Zarenhof for four nights, one of which was Germany's coldest night in 27 years or something - it was very very cold. The hotel was great. Reception very friendly. As the entrance to the apartments is separate from reception, we didn't talk to the staff very much, but they were very helpful on checkin and I'm sure would have been great if we had needed them.

The room was large, new, very clean and warm (!!) with a kitchenette that we only used for cups of tea, a couch, large flat screen TV (only German channels), free wireless internet and a very satisfactory bathroom. We were very comfortable there.

The buffet breakfast was great with a selection of hot items as well as the typical German breakfast foods. It was set up in an attractive room and the food and drinks were good.

One of the best things about the hotel was its location less than a minute's walk from the Eberwalderstr. underground station - so convenient. Lots of good and reasonably-priced restaurants in the area. We really liked the Indian restaurant just a couple of doors away.

We would definitely stay at the Hotel Apartmenthaus Zarenhof again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#180 of 634 in Berlin
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#162 of 634 in Berlin
193 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#87 of 634 in Berlin
288 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#340 of 634 in Berlin
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarenhof in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg is located at Schonhauser Allee in a trendy and vibrant area of the Prenzlauer Berg district. With its diverse cultural scene and countless trendy bars located in stunning "Founder's Period" architectural buildings, this district continues to attract more and more visitors. All the tourist attractions in Berlin - the Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate etc. can all be reached in just a few minutes with the U2 underground line (the Eberswalder Strasse stop is right outside the door). Despite its central location, our bedrooms and apartments overlook the innermost courtyard and are therefore very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing