We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok apartment hotel in a very nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #249 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Ok apartment hotel in a very nice area”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Located in the nice Prenzlauer Berg district with a lot of small shops, cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Kastanienalle is just around the corner, and you can easily reach different parts of the city by u-bahn or trams. The ubahnhof (metrostation) Eberzwalderstrasse is at your front door (line U2, which takes you to Aleanderplatx in three stops and goes through the city to Potzdamer Platz and Zoologisher Garten), and so are three different trams stops (M1 to Hackesher Markt and the Museum Island, M10 to East Side Gallery, 12 to Nordbahnhof and Museum Island).

An area you should not miss is the Helmholzplatz very close by. Just pass a couple of quiet streets, and you come to a square with a lot of really nice bars and restaurants - some of the nicest we saw in all of Berlin, actually. Another good thing in the neighbourhood is the market on Kollwitzplatz on Saturdays (also a nice area with cafes) and the flee market in the Mauerpark on Sundays.

The hotel itself was a bit disappointing compared to the pictures on the website - it is a bit run down. The reception is a little room on the front street, and you walk into the backyard for the rooms. There is no bar or lobby area. The good thing is the size of the rooms (although smaller than it looks on the website) and the balcony outside your room which faces a quiet Berlin backyard (especially if you travel with children and want somewhere to sit down after they go to bed)

The hotel breakfast is very expensive for Berlin (11 euro). In all the nearby cafes you can get a really nice breakfast for half the price. Berlin is famous for its breakfasts (which often are served until 5pm because you can also have them as lunch). A good tip is to book a stay without breakfast, because then you can go and get a new experience every day!

A good alternative if you want to stay in this area is the more homely hotel Freiraum (corner cafe with rooms to let) in a quiet street nearby, very close to Helmholzplatz.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galgaliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    109
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
51
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 8 nights this September. The hotel is in Prenzlauerberg , the hottest spot of Berlin these days. It is also just opposite a metro station (u-bahn). For sure the location is excellent since the neighbourhood is truly vivid, with restaurants, bars, cafes, and people in the streets until early in the morning. Also in the area there is a perfect connection with metro, trams and busses.
As far as the hotel itself is concerned, I must admit that it is an average 3 star hotel. The hotel has renovated bathrooms and big rooms. Also it is daily cleaned.
Still I have to say that our sheets were not changed not even once during the whole week we stayed. Also the room is covered with a carpet which is dusty and smells. Not to mention the out dated furniture and posters of the room.
Overall if you can book it for 80 Euros per night, then is a fair deal. If it costs more you can find better hotel room in an other area.
Still if you are determined to stay in Prenzlauer then is your only choice as the rest of the hotels in the area are hostels or 2 star hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRISTINA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in a room with a kitchenette. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is very quiet and is right across the road from the Eberswalder Straße U-bahn so you can get around the city no problem.

It is next door to a nice Vietnamese restaurant and a few doors down from a lovely and in-expensive Indian restaurant. There is a small shop next door which sells pretty much everything you could need.

The staff are very polite and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saperavi829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Me and my spouse absolutely love Prenzlauer berg as a neighborhood and this was the first time we stayed there.
Zarenhof is a nice place to stay. Not your typical hotel, our room was within a normal apartment house! So there were locals who actually lived in the building that said hi to us in the hallway. Kind of nice, but then again not what you would expect...
Breakfast was excellent with warm croissants, nice sausages and a very nice home made cereal (looked like a classy dessert, then again tasted that way also). Room and bathroom were nice, but no air condition. Also the lock were killing me. You had to try to find the correct way to turn key and you had to turn around and round many times to lock it or unlock it. A small matter but I found it quite frustrating! Plus there were two of those, our room lock and a lock on the door to the hallway.
Also would have really enjoyed a fridge for some cold drinks! Wireless internet was free of charge but it wasn't very reliable.

Service was friendly and the Eberswalder strasse U-bahn is just in front of the hotel.
Taxi to and from Tegel airport was 20-21€.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PyynikinParoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stopped at the Tourist Info desk at the Berlin Hauptbahnhof and I asked for a nice inexpensive hotel in a charming part of Berlin with sidewalk cafes, small family owned shops, lively atmosphere, parks and green spaces, and easy transportation links. They set me up for one night at Hotel Apartmenthaus Zarenhof in the Prenzlauer Berg district. I liked the hotel and district so much that I stayed for 7 nights. It really made my stay in Berlin memorable. My large room was on the top floor, serviced by an elevator, and had been recently renovated. It was perfect in every way, especially for the price. The wifi signal was free, strong and secure. The U-Bahn station is directly outside the hotel so the entire city is easy to access.

The staff was friendly and went the extra mile to make my time in Berlin enjoyable--I really used their expertise. I can't say enough about their impact on my stay, especially Manuel Sanchez, who showed me how to use the public transportation and was available for all of my questions. Breakfast has good choices and with the nice weather I sat out in the courtyard amongst the flowers and greenery. There was even a harp player on the weekends. The whole atmosphere was peaceful and pleasant. The Hotel Zarehnof is a charming oasis within a lively, energetic area of the city. When I return to Berlin this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li0nheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Very clean and quiet. The food is great and every room has a small kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabik2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Booked hotel through late rooms and we were delighted with the quality of the room, location etc...lovely and warm, very serviceable kitchen, great bathroom. Would stay again as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#228 of 634 in Berlin
116 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#366 of 634 in Berlin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#140 of 634 in Berlin
240 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#84 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg

Property: Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarenhof in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg is located at Schonhauser Allee in a trendy and vibrant area of the Prenzlauer Berg district. With its diverse cultural scene and countless trendy bars located in stunning "Founder's Period" architectural buildings, this district continues to attract more and more visitors. All the tourist attractions in Berlin - the Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate etc. can all be reached in just a few minutes with the U2 underground line (the Eberswalder Strasse stop is right outside the door). Despite its central location, our bedrooms and apartments overlook the innermost courtyard and are therefore very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing