We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #287 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here last year during the summer. Considering its trendy location and the quality of the rooms (includes fully equipped kitchenette) and the broad selection of food offered at breakfast it it is a fair deal. Centered in an area with plenty of trendy restaurants and bars. And easily accessible through various transport lines.

For the most part it was a comfortable stay, however depending on the courtesy of the other guests, unfortunately despite the wonderful courtyard in the center noise tends to travel and echo up to all of the rooms with balconies facing the courtyard. So if you happen to encounter a especially loud group of people who move in and out during the night be prepared to hear their conversations and laughter.

English speaking staff are generally very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandernyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice, first time in the summer 2012 and again in november same year. It's a nice hotel with a good location in Prenzlauer Berg. Great breakfast, even with live harp music in the breakfast room on Saturday and Sundays! The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Personally I found Zarenhof a litle bit expensive, there are many good and cheaper hotels even in Prenzlauer Berg. But in total - it was a nice stay and I slept very well!

Room Tip: If you like sun on the balcony in morning - choose room 406!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sualk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

For 11 euros you can get a wonderful "Zar" breakfast, which is actually more a brunch than a breakfast. If you eat it, you will probably not need to have lunch or just a very light one.
The variety of the food is really good, including salmon and caviar, fresh bread, several types of cheese, fruits, etc. On Sunday you can even get some champagne for breakfast :)
Coffee and juice are included in this price as well, so compared to other places where you can have brunch in Berlin, this is really a great price for great quality.
In spring/summer you can have breakfast inside or outside.
Rooms are spacious and clean. The location is fantastic, exactly at the tube station of Schönhauser Allee, close to a lot of trendy shops, restaurants and bars in one of Berlin's best party areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Not too many nice hotels that are not in Wilmersdorff or Mitte, but I wanted to try my luck in Prenzlauer Berg, probably my favorite area of the city. The Regent it is not, but that's a reality that's well reflected in the price differential as well.

Overall, I'd say it was a very good experience. Friendly staff, decent room with a balcony, ok bathroom, and a kitchen that I never used. What I really wanted from the experience is the location to all the fun bars, restaurants and shops in PB, and that's what I got all at a budget price. Very very pleased with the experience. And the overground train station is right across the street, which is incredibly convenient for traveling around the city. The shower was a bit much though... I flooded the bathroom every time I took a shower, which wasn't fun. Oh well, that could happen even at a much nicer hotel too.

If you're looking for luxury accommodations in a tony part of Berlin, do not stay here. But if you're looking for excellent location and are happy paying a bit less for bit less in terms of comfort and niceness, this property is an appropriate option.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMC7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on the ground floor very comfortable and unbelievable quite considering you were in Berlin.Only 3 stops on the underground to Alexanderplatz and lots of eating places nearby highly recommended and for smokers they have a lot of rooms with balconies with table and chairs.Entrance through a small door past the apartments hotel at back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our apartment had been recently renovated with a new bathroom and decor throughout. Was very comfortable and roomy with all the required facilities. Breakfast was wonderful with a good variety and staff as helpful as they good be with the language barrier. Very central and easy to get into the centre of Berlin. Parking was the only problem as we had a parking permit issued by the hotel, but still got a parking fine. Hotel sorted it out for us (I think...).
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djb3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The apartments have a fantastic location just outside of the city centre with very easy links into or out of the city. Surrounding the hotel are a number of fantastic restaurants at fantastic prices (there is a beautiful Indian restaurant a few doors down). We opted for the apartments because they had a great deal on at the time for them – but we would have happily paid more as the views are great.

The one down side is that we were there on one of the hottest nights of the year (so far) and without a/c the room was very very hot!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Schall und Rauch Stadthotel
Schall und Rauch Stadthotel
#554 of 635 in Berlin
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#336 of 635 in Berlin
103 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#43 of 635 in Berlin
276 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#208 of 635 in Berlin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £66 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarenhof in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg is located at Schonhauser Allee in a trendy and vibrant area of the Prenzlauer Berg district. With its diverse cultural scene and countless trendy bars located in stunning "Founder's Period" architectural buildings, this district continues to attract more and more visitors. All the tourist attractions in Berlin - the Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate etc. can all be reached in just a few minutes with the U2 underground line (the Eberswalder Strasse stop is right outside the door). Despite its central location, our bedrooms and apartments overlook the innermost courtyard and are therefore very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing